Skip to content

David Hockney

September 27, 2011

Have you heard of David Hockney (9th July 1937)? He is considered one of the most influential British artists of the twentieth century and you definitely should have heard of him if you are at least a bit interested in painting, graphic art or photography. I love not only his artwork, but also the fact that he has always been so keen on experimenting, diving into any sphere that could help him to express his so colourful inner self. So no wonder Hockney is listed in a book by Thomas Koster called “50 Artists You Should Know”.

David Hockney "The Bigger Splash"

Hockney might be best known by his swimming pool paintings that have been created during his visit to California, where he lived for many years. At the time they were painted using the comparatively new acrylic medium and rendered in a highly realistic style using vibrant colours. They are good, yet more than these I like his very bright paintings from the 90s – these paintings could easily compete with any of the most interesting autumnal leaves that at the moment seem to litter our paths.

David Hockney "Garrowby Hill"

David Hockney "Wheat Field near Fridaythorpe"

How do you come up with colours like that!? Might this be an influence of his travels (the artist was almost always travelling in Egypt, Japan and India) or just an expression of Hockney’s synesthesia? (Synesthesia from the ancient Greek σύν (syn), “together,” and αἴσθησις (aisthēsis), “sensation,” is a neurologically based condition in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second sensory or cognitive pathway.)

Hockney sees synesthetic colours to musical stimuli and it is said that in general, this does not show up in his painting or photography artwork too much. However, it is a common underlying principle in his construction of stage sets for various ballets and operas, where he bases the background colours and lighting upon his own seen colours while listening to the music of the theatre piece he is working on.

One of David Hockney's "joiners" or, in other words, photo colllages

Well, looking at Hockney’s drawings, paitings or photo collages I can only say: no doubt this is an artist with endless imagination, who expierences the world a bit different to the rest of us – to my mind his world is somehow more fun.

— — —

If you’d like to see more of Hockney’s artwork do visit his website (by the way, it also should be considered a piece of Art – a very neat website in the realm of cluttered virtual reality). Oh, and if you decide to watch a film by Bruno Wollheim “David Hockney: A Bigger Picture”, please don’t forget to tell us about it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 10:15 pm

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  2. February 26, 2012 1:41 pm

    Cool. I’m hoping to visit the exhibition in London soon. Have you been?

    • February 26, 2012 2:55 pm

      Sadly, I haven’t been, but I’d definitely go, if I had a chance. I’m sure you will like it.

  3. emshanu permalink
    March 21, 2012 2:21 pm

    David Hockney is one of my favourite artists 😀 if you have the chance to go to Salts Mill near Bradford, it’s well worth a visit

    • March 21, 2012 2:28 pm

      Thank you for leaving a comment and for joining our followers! Just had a look at Salts Mill on the web and it looks like a very interesting place – I think I would need a week to go round all the galleries and shops. Well, Hockney’s exhibition ends in April, so sadly I probably won’t make it… Hopefully they will have something interesting on for the time I visit.

  4. April 19, 2012 5:39 pm

    Are you kidding me, David Hocknet is and has been one of my favourite artists. I’m so flatterred that you like my post and like him as well. I feel so good right now

  5. April 25, 2012 1:16 am

    The colors are fabulous aren’t they? I really like Hockney and enjoyed your “collection”. Thanks for the post.

    • April 25, 2012 8:49 am

      Thank you for your comment. I agree – the colours are fabulous and rather bold, I wish I had enough “courage” to use them so freely.

Leave a Reply

