Skip to content

Submitted! Time to Wait…

February 24, 2012

When I first heard about the Veolia Environnement Wildlife Photographer of the Year Competition I remembered that I have a few images that I could submit, but as I don’t consider myself a wildlife photographer, I decided not to bother. I also recalled seeing some of the winning images at the London Natural History Museum – this of course also didn’t boost my self-esteem…

Well, it’s definitely one of the most prestigious competitions of its kind, attracting entries from photographers worldwide and, when I noticed that the deadline for submitting images was approaching, I decided to at least have a look at the rules and requirements. I’m glad I did. In fact seeing these rules made me realize that the right approach is – if you don’t take part, you can’t win.

I paid twenty pounds, that’s the standard fee, and submitted some images. When I say “some”, I mean twenty – the maximum amount. I didn’t think I’d come up with so many, but I did! There are lots of categories, but no more than five images can be entered into a single category. I managed to find images for botanical realms, urban wildlife, behavior: birds, animal portraits, wildscapes and creative visions.

So I have submitted. Now I’ll have to wait…

Garden Tiger Moth (Arctia caja)

The aim of this competition: “by encouraging innovation and creativity whilst maintaining excellence in nature photography, the Competition seeks to promote the discovery, understanding, and responsible enjoyment of the natural world.”

Young Cow Parsley (Anthriscus sylvestris)

What the organizers are looking for: “freshness, originality, creativity and innovation are at the core of the Competition and should be reflected in all images that are submitted.”

The Baltic Sea

Hmm… it might be that I have just wasted twenty pounds, but anyway, please wish me luck.

P.S. Closing date for entries has been extended to Monday 27 February 2012 at 09:00 GMT.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 9:29 am

    Good luck, the photographs look really good I especially like the cow parsley it looks so delicate. 🙂

  2. February 24, 2012 9:50 am

    Thank you very much, Sandra. I also like the cow parsley – to me it looks as if it has a ruff collor, like the royal people used to wear in probably the 16th century.

  3. February 24, 2012 9:58 am

    Excellent. Good luck. I have a weakness for nature and I think your Garden Tiger Moth is a great capture.

    • February 24, 2012 10:14 am

      Thank you for your comment – that moth was a surprise, I saw it on our lawn and couldn’t believe my eyes! I never thought anything that pretty lived here – although I shouldn’t be that happy, as apparently they aren’t kind to apple trees.

  4. February 26, 2012 7:33 pm

    Yes, my favourite is the Tiger Moth photo too 😉 Well done!

    Good luck too – looking forward to hearing how you do 😉

    • February 27, 2012 2:20 pm

      Thank you, Alan. I will let you know whatever comes – fame or more likely shame 🙂

Leave a Reply

