Skip to content

Going for It

March 17, 2012

Since I started writing this blog I have been looking at so many paintings – artists who blog always show something new and pretty they have come up with lately. No doubt I am jealous! So… it was time to do something about it.

I must admit I do paint a bit. Sometimes. Really not often. I’m definitely not a professional, so an empty canvas always scares me… Lots of “what if?” questions don’t leave me until that last brush stroke. Anyway…

Acrylics (instead of chocolates)

This time I had a perfect subject – bright yellow daffodils.

I can never resist these flowers, no wonder in classical Persian literature, the narcissus or the daffodil is a symbol of beautiful eyes. Well, it’s also said that this flower is perceived in the West as a symbol of vanity (I’m not sure why) and in the East as a symbol of wealth and good fortune, yet for me it’s a symbol of spring and Easter.

Here’s the “masterpiece” ready for your judgement.

Daffodills, 2012

And I’m leaving you with a few verses:

I wandered lonely as a Cloud
That floats on high o’er Vales and Hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd
A host of dancing Daffodils;
Along the Lake, beneath the trees,
Ten thousand dancing in the breeze. 

From the poem “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud” by William Wordsworth.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 4:53 pm

    Well; like you said, you went for it! The bravest step is getting started. I like your brushstrokes. The small daffodil on the right is my favourite. And I really like the warm shadow at bottom left.

    Here is Ireland every child learns that poem at school and it is an all-time favourite. I too tend to connect poetry to my paintings and very often find just the right name for a piece hidden in a poem!

    • March 18, 2012 12:27 pm

      Thank you Mary for your comment – it’s always very useful to hear what real artists think. To tell the turth I was happy it’s possible to say that these flowers are daffodils, so I wasn’t looking for a favourite one… didn’t get that far. And the warm shadow, yes it somehow works well, I’m glad I decided to add some yellow into the bottom left corner.

      Inspiration can come watching a film, listening to a song or reading poetry, so I guess we just have to keep our eyes open, constantly! Like your mackerel – you’ve seen that fish lots of times, but you catch one yourself and here’s the inspiration! (Sorry to hear about your nephew, I’m sure he knows you still remember him.)

      P.S. As you are in Ireland, how did you celebrate St.Patrick’s day?

  2. March 18, 2012 8:46 am

    I really like this. It is fresh and the colors are beautiful. All you need to do is keep painting, each one will lead to the next and you’ll keep discovering new things. Sarah

    • March 18, 2012 12:35 pm

      Hi, Sarah, thank you for encouragement – I think I’ll follow your advice and will try and do some more painting; it’s just hard to fit it in as it requires so much concentration. I bet you can almost imagine me with my tongue hanging out… 🙂 usually painting lemons, of course.

  3. March 18, 2012 1:21 pm

    It’s beautiful!

    • March 18, 2012 3:47 pm

      Thank you, Jane.

      P.S. Love your photos, they carry a certain calm mood.

  4. March 18, 2012 2:22 pm

    Love your brave brushmarks! daffs in particular have a look of movement about them.

    • March 18, 2012 3:54 pm

      Thank you, Sue. I feel so great receiving nice comments from real artists!

      P.S. I have added your blog to our “Artists who blog” list.

      • March 19, 2012 9:42 pm

        Thanks very much girls. I spent ages over the weekend going through your artists and blogs and there are some great ones. It takes a little time to blog, but what you get back is well worth it. 🙂

  5. March 18, 2012 2:39 pm

    As I often say to myself, the words will out. No different with the images you carry. It’s both a relief and a blessing to finally express yourself. You posted a wonderul piece of artwork with a matching bit of poetry.

    Enjoy the gifts you have and the gifts you bring!

    – Jeff

    • March 18, 2012 8:14 pm

      Thank you, Jeff, for such a nice comment. It was definitely worth publishing this post (I must admit I had doubts about showing it to the public) just to “hear” lots of beautiful words.

      Best wishes,

      Kristina

  6. March 18, 2012 3:31 pm

    I love the daffs, especially the orange contrast against the blue.

    • March 18, 2012 8:16 pm

      Thank you for stopping by, Anna. I do agree that orange and blue go really well – very fresh colours.

  7. March 19, 2012 2:24 pm

    Very nice – I like the impressionist style too.

    • March 19, 2012 2:32 pm

      Thank you!

      P.S. I’ve noticed you’re from Brighton, can you please recommend a few interesting spots that the usual tourist information wouldn’t bother mentioning?

      • March 19, 2012 2:52 pm

        To visit or to paint? Well I’d definitely recommend visiting the Devil’s Dyke for either, but that will almost certainly be in the usual tourist information. I go mountain biking round there and the scenery is stunning. The Booth Museum is worth a look if you’re into natural history and is out of the city centre (it’s just past the Dials). Also, it’s always worth checking the local listing for any interesting exhibitions or events that might be in town. Particularly as the Brighton festival will be on in May (the open houses can be fun/interesting, especially if you like arts and crafts). I can recommend the Brighton Ghost walk for a bit of local history and intriguing murder stories. Alternatively you can visit Lewes, which is 20 minutes train journey from Brighton. It’s a very pretty town and it has a castle and few small museums that are worth a look.

      • March 19, 2012 3:15 pm

        Thank you so much. I don’t think I will have time to paint (although I wish I could go on a relaxed trip round the South coast), so I’d love to explore the place thoroughly and of course take loads of photos. Ghost walk – oh my, murder stories, I guess it’s perfect for a Most Haunted fan! And the open houses sound interesting too, so it seems it would be best to aim for May.

        Just looked at Lewes. It does look nice, so I’m adding it to my plans as well!

        Thank you. Some day you will see familiar places on this blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

