Skip to content

Finally Some Finalists

March 21, 2012

Remember us mentioning the International Street Photography Awards? Anyone could enter, as long as you had some interesting photos to share. Well, the organisers of this competition have finally anounced some finalists.

“In 2012, over 2,400 photographers entered the second International Street Photography Awards. From a shortlist of 50 photographers, 16 finalists were selected and will be included in the International Street Photography exhibition at 29-31 Oxford Street from 1 to 30 June 2012. The winner and two runners up will be revealed during the festival.”

I had at look at all of the photos and have chosen only 5 that I liked the most. To tell the truth I was a bit disappointed – if I saw images that belong to the best 16 photographers out of 2400, then what were the rest like? The International Street Photography Award claimed to be “looking for exceptional, international photographers who display a unique style and depth of work in the genre of street photography”, yet what I saw sometimes reminded me of poor quality homemade photos. Anyway, I will let you form your own opinion – please click here for more photographs.

Artur Eranosian, Belgium - Wetteren

Siegfried Hansen, Germany - Graphical Situation

Aristide Economopoulos, United States - Rasheem Bond

Arnhel de Serra, United Kingdom - Preparations for Pony Competition

Matthew Goddard-Jones, Australia - First Light of an Early Morning Swim

I hope that the winning image will be one of the above. Then I would at least know that everything’s ok with my photographic taste! Fingers crossed…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 6:12 pm

    hmm..i tried to find succinct limitations, i mean contest parameters and it was difficult
    perhaps that was part of the issue.

    i wonder how many times and how many images ‘street photos’ must be taken to appear natural or to be truly caught as natural.

    I have found, for me, that attempting to come up with a list of do’s and don’ts causes me to end up with image crap.

    • March 21, 2012 6:25 pm

      I’m not sure how many of the photos were staged, I guess some of them could have been; yet I think that street photography has to be something, as you say, natural – caught that very second.

      My biggest problem is taking photos of strangers – I’m scared I would get beaten up by not so friendly “subjects”.

      • March 22, 2012 11:16 am

        ha! if you entice and seduce with your purple shoes FIRST, they are much more pliable!! wriggle wriggle

  2. March 22, 2012 1:31 pm

    All are amazing! but I have a special love for the one with the airplane. Imagine that in the yard next door!

    • March 22, 2012 5:00 pm

      Yes, I also love the one with the airplane – I guess it might be an open air museum or something like that. I think it’s a great place to grow up as a kid, must be very exciting.

  3. March 22, 2012 10:06 pm

    You’ve chosen five good ones – the shot of the little girl yawning is fab!

    Did you enter the competition yourself? xx

    • March 23, 2012 9:19 am

      You’re reading my mind, Alan – I’d also vote for that cute child on the pony!

      I wanted to enter the copetition, but… chickened out. I guess I was worried I wouldn’t find anything interesting to show, but now that I saw the finalists, I think my “Young Latvian Backsides” could have at least “tried” to compete. Have a look at my long neglected blog:

      http://make-us-happy.blogspot.com/2011/05/not-seriously.html

      I guess there’s always the next year…

Leave a Reply

