Skip to content

Artists and Dates – Édouard Manet and April the 30th

April 30, 2012

Édouard Manet (1832 - 1883)

I  might have neglected this blog for a while as the good weather couldn’t be wasted sitting indoors, yet there was no way I was going to miss posting something on the 30th of April, especially when I found out that Édouard Manet was born on this day (me too!), BUT… it seems the website, I found this information on made a MISTAKE – he was born on January the 23rd, 1832, yet he died on the 30th of April, 1883. It’s really sad to talk about someone dying, but I absolutely adore one of Manet’s latest paintings (if you’re reading this, Sandra, Manet’s Bar at the Folies-Bergère, would be somewhere at the top of my 10 Favourite Paintings list), so I decided to still post something about this French painter today. To make everything less complicated as it already is I chose to share some very pretty images and a very brief “explanation” on who Manet was (if you get a chance to read his full biography, you should definitely do it):

Manet, who was classically trained at the École des Beaux-Arts, rejected historical painting to experiment with new techniques. He in turn, was consistantly rejected by the Salon. He was a founding father of Impressionism and was a crucial part of the famous Salon des Refusés in 1863.

Le Déjeuner sur l'Herbe. 1863

Le Départ de Folkestone. 1869

En Bateau. 1874

Une Botte d'Asperges. 1880

Un Bar aux Folies-Bergères. 1881/82

Information for this post was found on: arthistory.about.com and p.giroud.free.fr

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2012 8:21 pm

    I’m a huge fan of Manet too – the sweetest book I own is the little one “The Last Flowers of Manet” by Robert Gordon and Andrew Forge. Flower paintings done during his last days. Thanks for commemorating him here.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. May 1, 2012 7:02 am

    Thank you, Doreen!

    I think I will have to “hunt” this books as it sounds really nice, probably perfect for inspiration.

    P.S. I have added your blog to our “Artists Who Blog” list.

  3. May 1, 2012 12:25 pm

    You might find the book on Amazon – it’s small, but all color plates – beautiful! Thanks for adding me – I’ll add you too – my blog is fairly new and I could use a section like that too.

    • May 1, 2012 6:30 pm

      I have found it on Amazon! I’m definitely adding it to my wish list, which seems to be growing and growing… 🙂

      I’m sure your blog will be popular, you need to be patient – whatever happens don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

