Skip to content

May = Sun + Colours (2 Desktop Images)

May 2, 2012

I get less and less time to spend on my computer – it feels somehow reckless  to stay indoors on a sunny day and we seem to be getting quite a lot of these now! Most of the trees have turned light green, others will be in bloom probably by the end of this week – nature has lost it’s boring cloak and has put on a bright new cover. I couldn’t agree more with James Thomson:

“Among the changing months, May stands confest The sweetest, and in fairest colors dressed.”

With all these colours around us it’s definitely high time to start spring plein air sessions (En plein air – a French expression which means “in the open air”, and is particularly used to describe the act of painting outdoors, which is also called peinture sur le motif (“painting on the ground”) in French). I wish I had more time for everything, as being a keen gardener I have to give my plot a kick start weeding and planting seedlings, that have been covering my windows for the last few months, but I’m sure that I will paint a few landscapes soon… very soon – I can’t wait!

Anyway, I’m leaving you with two bright May desktop images (please click on the image to see its full version, then right click and choose the “save  picture as…” option to download it onto your computer); now get ouside and soak up some light, we all need vitamin D!

P.S. Don’t forget to visit our latest E-ExhibitionStephen Mitchell and his Threads of Light.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 2:43 pm

    I love may too here in the southern hemisphere as we get rain which turns everything that is dry and brown a lovely happy green again too enjoy …

    • May 2, 2012 4:59 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I loved your blog, so I have added it to our “Inspiration hides HERE” section.

  2. thecolourofideas permalink
    May 2, 2012 6:19 pm

    I love May, my Birthday is in May I think it’s my favourite month. Lovely desktop images 🙂

  3. May 9, 2012 5:42 pm

    Stunning images – and thanks for the heads-up on the font 😉

    • May 11, 2012 5:07 pm

      I’m very glad you like them, Alan. By the way, I don’t think my wildlife images made it – I would have heard from the competition organizers by now… Well, there’s alway next year, just need to find some subjects…

Leave a Reply

