Skip to content

That Magic Word – Marketing

May 4, 2012

A week ago, on one of the blogs I read, I stumbled upon a useful post on marketing ideas. It got me wondering – how much time does an average artist spend on his/her computer trying to promote their work? I must admit I spend at least a couple of hours most days (sometimes this couple turns into much more than “a few”!). It is getting annoying as this is the time that I could be hmm… using to actually improve my skills – taking more photographs, painting…. Well, I’m sure you get the idea.

Still, we all must live on something and I’m afraid that, if you want to earn some money, you have to take action.

Here’s something you can start with.

If you click on this link you will be taken to a website called Artists Helping Artists, where you will find loads of information and advice on marketing your artwork. What’s good about this website – they have a Blog Radio, so you can listen to some of their recorded shows, while working on something else (I’m sure such multitasking isn’t only for women). There you will find Ten Ways to Jump Start Your Art Career, Using Pininterest to Sell Your Art (I’m not sure about Pininterest as they seem to be cleverly “stealing” images or so I heard on several blogs I read), Top Apps for Artists and many more related topics.

The lady, who is behind all this – Leslie Seata (a professional artist), can offer hundreds of tips, but I’d like to share just a few that I thought I might actually give a try:

1. Create e-books that people can download from your website or blog for free. If you struggle to pick interesting topics you can simply use the most popular posts on your blog.

2. Start selling quality prints of your artwork.

3. Leave comments on other blogs – the more, the better.

4. Create a Twitter account and “tweet”.

5. Compile an art buying guide for beginners and, of course, don’t forget to include your artwork.

6. Join Google +

7. Team up with another artist.

8. Find some place locally where you could exhibit your artwork for free (for e.g. furniture shop or hairdressers).

— — —

Maybe you’re already doing some of this? Does it work? We’d be glad to hear what you think!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2012 7:55 pm

    Timely advice!! I have a solo exhibition in three weeks time. It does take time though. I enjoy writing my blog, but it is quite a financial committment to framing, cards and prints in our current economic climate.

    • May 5, 2012 12:14 pm

      Hi, Sue. Thank you for leaving this comment. I do agree that it is a financial burden to try and keep your artwork as appealing to art buyers as possible. For e.g. I’d love to get some cards printed, but I’m really scared that I wouldn’t find any buyers… I’ve also framed quite a few of my photo prints, but they still haven’t left my house – it’s quite a lot of “putting in” rather than “taking out”.

      Anyway, lets not be pessimistic – I hope your exhibition is a success! Please take a lot of photographs, so that we could have a look at everything at least virtually.

      Kristina

  2. May 5, 2012 8:22 am

    Thanks for this post. I write a lot about marketing (anti-marketing really), on my blog. Deep in my heart of hearts I resist the pressure to market one’s artwork because I believe art making is aligned with soul values like caring, healing, the larger themes in a life. And marketing, well, you know, is just marketing.

    Anyway, I subscribe to and have been featured on Brush Buzz, a marketing newsletter for artists, and found this post refreshing- http://faso.com/fineartviews/42562/the-power-of-the-gift
    Not that it is a complete answer, but it does balance the bombardment we are all subjected to,to do things that don’t feel right, that we don’t necessarily want to do, all in the name of selling our art.

    By the way, I love it when my art sells, but that is not the motivating goal for my life.

    • May 5, 2012 12:42 pm

      Hi, Sarah, I do understand your wish to resist the marketing concept, to tell the truth I’d also rather mind my own business (take photograps and paint), rather than shout to the whole world – look at what I’m doing! Yet it does seem that art has lost a lot of it’s true characteristics; it has become like everyhting around us – you can sell it and you can buy it, it’s that simple. This of course leads to the situation where the market is flooded with low quality paitings and prints and, as we still need to live on something, it’s up to us to find the best way to fight the mass produced rubbish (I know it’s a bit harsh, but I do look around in lots of shops and it really scares me!).

      I don’t think I will open a twitter acount, we don’t have a facebook page for Decor-Art; I’d rather choose more interesting ways to tell about us – for e.g. blogging – even if this doesn’t work much, that’s something that involves learning new things, improving my skills and finding likeminded people, as opposed to “tweeting” – “I’ve just had my breakfast”. Who cares!?

      Thank you for showing us that article. I think it’s very true! I guess it’s just like the rule I try to live by every day – you get, what you give.

      Kristina

  3. May 9, 2012 5:38 pm

    OOOH – I like the idea of the e-books. I’m going to have to find out more now!

    Thanks for finding me something else to do with my minuscule amount of free time!! 😉
    Teehee x

    • May 11, 2012 5:01 pm

      Oh, Alan, I’m glad I’m not the only one, who hasn’t got much spare time… that just proves that I am normal 🙂 I hope you will manage to find a few minutes for anything that might make your blog even more interesting – you certainly have your own unique style, so I’m sure that even your e-books would be full of pretty old photographs and gripping stories. Already looking forward to seeing some 😉

Trackbacks

  1. What is getting lost in the art marketing discussion « Art Calling

Leave a Reply

