Skip to content

Little Holland

May 17, 2012

Every spring, after the first flowers start to show, I remember the colourful tulip fields of Holland and decide that I’d love to visit Keukenhof – the famous park, that has been one of the most popular destinations in the Netherlands for sixty years.

“More than seven million flowers form a glorious decor for the most beautiful photos” – oh, my! it seems this woud be a perfect trip! I’m sure I’d take thousands of photos. Well, hopefully next year…

Meanwhile, I am enjoying my own little Holland – a bunch of tulips, that have been grown in a tiny tiny garden (only 0.47% of Keukenhof’s 32ha). We might have planted not as many bulbs, but I’m well chuffed with the result – I love the colours and the shapes!

I’ll be honest – I’m even further from being a ‘Rembrandt’ than my garden to being a ‘Keukenhof’, yet this was such a pretty composition that I found a few hours for my long forgotten hobby – painting. Don’t be too harsh judging it, whenever I paint I decide that I’d better take photographs… so I guess this is just a form of relaxation, the outcome not always meets my expectations.

Little Holland (Acrylics on Canvas)

I always start with the background, which is the boring bit and can’t wait till I can move onto the subject. I want to finish everything in one go, as I’m scared that I might choose to paint something new rather than finish the previous artwork. The brush strokes might seem a bit hasty, yet it took me more than three hours… till I gave up.

Some of the tulips up-close

The vase up-close

Before you disappear, here are some facts and figures about Keukenhof – you might decide you’d also like to visit this park some day:

  • It is the largest bulb flower park in the world
  • It is the most photographed place in the world
  • There are 15 kilometers of footpaths
  • It is the largest sculpture park in the Netherlands
  • The bulbs are supplied by 91 Royal Warrant Holders
  • 7 million flower bulbs planted by hand
  • More than 2,500 trees in 87 varieties

Until then, enjoy other ‘little Hollands’ – wherever you find some pretty colourful tulips.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2012 5:10 pm

    Tulips are my favorite flowers! Love this post!

    • May 17, 2012 5:16 pm

      Tulips are incredible – there are so many species! Thank you for leaving a comment, it’s always a pleasure to receive positive reactions.

  2. May 17, 2012 5:13 pm

    The photo and the painting are both good. I like the photo’s composition, very fresh. And the painting is lovely, it is a lot better than some of these slick mannered things you see on ‘professionsl’ artist’s sites all over the internet.

    The only thing I would have done differently(and another artist would probably suggest something else), would be to make the white strokes on the table less choppy. The contrast there takes away attention from the really nice loose tulips.

    • May 18, 2012 5:30 pm

      Hi, Sarah. I’m very glad that you like both – the photo and the painting (to my mind the photo is better; maybe just because it’s easier to press a button, than to spend lots of time applying colours… the result is instant and usually quite satisfying – you capture what you see and, at the same time, it is a perfect reflection).

      Anyway, I do value your opinion, so after reading your comment about the ‘choppy table’, I understand where you’re coming from. I guess I will leave the painting as it is for now, but will return to it, when I’m brave enough to implement some changes. Oh, and your thought that it’s better than some of the professional artist’s creations made my day! Thank you.

      • May 19, 2012 1:39 pm

        Actually, I wasn’t sure you’d taken the photo or if it was from the Keukenhodf site , I think it is brilliant. And it is more than pressing the button!

        Oh yes, do leave the painting as it is if it feels better for you.It is fine as it is, the suggestion was only a thought.

        Your painting is better than a lot of so called professional art I see on the web every day because it is still curious, and (thank goodness!) imperfect. Which makes it alive.

  3. May 18, 2012 12:02 pm

    You are closer to Van Gogh than Rembrandt! Well done! We can’t grow tulips in FL and I miss them – yours are beautiful.

    • May 18, 2012 5:17 pm

      Oh, Doreen, to be close to Van Gogh would be great! It is a massive compliment. By the way, why can’t you grow tulips? Is it too hot?

      • May 18, 2012 7:36 pm

        Yes – we don’t even get frost where I am, so the bulbs aren’t happy. What I miss even more is peonies.:(

  4. S.P. permalink
    May 18, 2012 1:14 pm

    I love your painting and I have been to Keukenhof- it’s extraordinary! You will not be disappointed .

    • May 18, 2012 5:11 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a lovely comment. It seems that next year I definitely HAVE to see that Dutch beauty.

  5. May 20, 2012 6:50 pm

    Love your paintings you are indeed blessed 🙂

Leave a Reply

