Skip to content

Hello, Summer, My Old Friend! (2 Desktop Images)

June 2, 2012

Early in the morning it was raining cats and dogs, now the sun has come out, but it’s only +8C outside! Is this really summer? June can sometimes be a bit unpredictable, but that’s too harsh…

As Anton Chekhov said “people don’t notice whether it’s winter or summer when they’re happy”. I think I will risk of admitting that I’m not always happy – I want our summer back! I need lots of sun, colourful meadows with hidden crickets’ orchestras, hot sand under my feet, refreshing ice-cream, long evenings on a terrace, ripe strawberries, cool sea breeze, interesting books and time to relax soaking everything in.

What do you like about summer? What are you looking forward to?

Whatever your expectations are – I’m sure it will come. It simply has to!

Meanwhile, here are two June desktop images:

Please click on the image to see its full version, then right click and choose the “save  picture as…” option to download it onto your computer.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2012 2:24 pm

    Thank so much for my new desk top image, I kept May on all month and I’m totally spoiled now at having a calendar at hand when I’m on the computer. I was trying to figure out how to use one of my photos and add a calendar in photoshop but don’t have the patience for now. Anyway I really like yours, the typeface too.

    Ah, summer. We had a tantalizing few weeks of summer in May. And now this- same as you, not quite as cold, but dreary and blustery again. Typical all year round Dutch weather. Actually the weather for Groningen and parts of the UK is very similar.

    What I love about summer- not having to wear coats etc, being freed from these rooms, ie living part of the time outside in the garden on cycling or walking. Warmth, I love and crave warmth and sun. Curling up on the deck with the dog and a blanket and falling asleep in the sun. Eating dinners outside.

    • June 2, 2012 2:42 pm

      I’m very glad that you like the desktop images and, yes, creating that calendar bit in PS can be a bit annoying – every time I have to rearrange the dates. (I guess a simple solution would be to just put another layer on top of a photo, like a little square and then “steal” one month at a time from some calendar available on the internet, then add it placing it onto the square… I hope you understand what I’m going on about…)

      I’m adding all your summer “likes” to my list!

  2. June 2, 2012 4:08 pm

    Summer where I am is very hot, humid and rainy. It’s not the preferred season, however there is plenty to love about summer – like the magnificent cloud formations, the tropical blooms and the warm ocean.

    • June 2, 2012 4:21 pm

      That magic word “ocean”! I live on the coast, yet it’s just the Baltic sea… I bet you get huge waves, perfect for surfing.

      P.S. Hot and humid doesn’t sound nice, but I think I’d choose this over our too cold winters.

      • June 2, 2012 10:34 pm

        Yes, we don’t even have frost here in winter, so we happily endure the heat and humidity. We’re on the southeast coast of FL, Atlantic Ocean and the waves can be big sometimes, good for the surfers. In the summer though the ocean is like a huge salty bathtub with mild waves – you can float all day! Unless there’s a hurricane or bad storm around – then if you’re a surfer, you surf and if you’re not you get home and board up the house! I agree with you though, it’s always great to be near a body of salt water – nothing like it!

  3. Photographs by Peter Knight permalink
    June 3, 2012 11:39 pm

    I think you have really nicely summarised some of the great things about summer. For me, the best thing is definitely the long, warm evenings!

    • June 6, 2012 7:18 pm

      Oh, how I love long and warm evenings! For me the night seems to disappear during the summer months – I go to bed late and get up very early, which isn’t a bad thing as I can fit many more things into the same 24 hours.

  4. June 6, 2012 9:13 am

    Stunning desktops as always!! 😉

    I agree – I want some more sunshine back. It’s not the cloudy days I mind – but the excessive torrential rain for June is a bit…..well…British!!!! As I type the sun IS shining, so I’m not typing too loudly!

    • June 6, 2012 7:15 pm

      Thank you for your comments, Alan. I hope summer will turn out nice and hot this year as last year it was too wet. I’m sure that if it gets too hot I will be begging for rain though; it takes ages to water the whole of the garden!

Leave a Reply

