Skip to content

An Old Mill (Lifestyle)

June 12, 2012

All roads lead to something, but sometimes while traveling, quite unexpectedly, you might find an interesting venue, which turns out to be much more exciting than your final destination. This is what happened to me last weekend.

It seems that in the middle of nowhere (that’s central Europe I’m talking about) there’s an old mill, hiding great treasures. Built in the 19th century the building has lost its original purpose, yet its thick 2 meter wide walls now house a very special gallery run by an artist who likes to paint and to carve wood.

I love old buildings, even though there’s always a risk that they may be haunted. (By the way, after this trip I searched for some more information about the mill and found out that there’s a story about a peasant who refused to obey and was left somewhere in between the walls! All I can say is that on a sunny day everything seemed very calm and inviting.)

I never had a chance to ask the owner of the mill about the local ghosts, but judging by the number of paintings he has managed to produce through out the years, I don’t think anything’s bothering him. His loft was absolutely full of bright paintings depicting real and fantasy landscapes, people and animals, religious scenes and still-lives.

I guess it’s not that hard to find inspiration when you’re surrounded by beautiful nature and old rustic barns (my heart’s always been in the country), when you have a few ponds and a river right at your doorstep, when the sun is shining and casting that perfect light… I know that I could be very happy there.

P.S. The owner of the mill seemed to think that a brighter person would have turned the building into a restaurant. This might sound cruel, but I’m pleased he wasn’t bright enough!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2012 8:57 pm

    You captured the atmosphere really well, thanks for the vicarious virtual trip from my chair. What a great place.

    Wow, that loft space looks like a dream workspace. I’d love an atelier big enough to spread out in! (I could stop working on canvas board which I do mostly because it is flat and easy to store, and start using stretched canvas on a wooden frame!).

    • June 13, 2012 9:16 am

      I’m glad I could take you on a virtual trip, Sarah, and I’m sure that you would love this place! The surroundings are very rustic and I happened to notice that the toilet was outside, but this is just a minor drawback. The studio was huge and I don’t think I have ever realised how many paintings one can create in their lifetime! Maybe we’d be as productive if we had where to keep our finished artwork?

      Well, I’m seriously in love with an idea of buying an old house somewhere in the country and turning it into something like this old mill – the artist told us it took him 7 years to revive the building. I guess everything’s possible when you want it really badly.

      By the way, he rents rooms for anyone who’d like to spend some time in his paradise.

  2. June 12, 2012 9:25 pm

    Beautiful place! Are you sure that the ghost didn’t paint some of the paintings?

    • June 13, 2012 9:18 am

      You might be right, Doreen, as it’s hard to imagine that one man could fill this huge loft on his own! I’m so disappointed I haven’t asked him if the house is haunted…

  3. Photographs by Peter Knight permalink
    June 13, 2012 6:21 am

    A great find! Definitely glad it didn’t turn into a restaurant! Talking of the ghosts, I wonder what it would have been like in the night time!! 🙂

    • June 13, 2012 9:31 am

      I guess in the night time it gets a bit spooky… The mill is next to the main road that leads to a few tiny villages, but there’s not much traffic and it’s surrounded by woods! It would be a perfect location for the ‘Most Haunted’ team.

  4. June 13, 2012 7:39 am

    What a beautiful place! I have to agree with you about the restaurant! That’s life as it should be [at least in my humble opinion!].

    • June 13, 2012 8:51 pm

      I’m very glad that we still have people who manage to run away from the whole material world and lead their life as they want to. I wish I was that brave…

Leave a Reply

