Skip to content

Glad to Be Back

June 20, 2012

I’m sure that our regular followers have noticed that there hasn’t been anything new from Decor-Art for at least a week and I must appologise for disappearing without any warnings, yet there was a reason… I love traveling and enjoy everything once I reach my destination, but the actual “getting there” bit sometimes is rather stressful (Confession: I don’t think I could ever become an air hostess…).

Well, I got “there” and back home safely and I couldn’t agree more with Lin Yutang:

“No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow.”

I’m in my old familiar bed, on my old familiar pillow (feels so good!) and I would like to share 10 special images that will no doubt tell you where I’ve been. You will also find 10 brilliant quotes underneath the photographs that should offer some explanation or generate some ideas – hopefully they will also encourage you to spread your wings!

 “All travel has its advantages. If the passenger visits better countries, he may learn to improve his own. And if fortune carries him to worse, he may learn to enjoy it.” – Samuel Johnson

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

 “For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

“When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable.” – Clifton Fadiman

“If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.” – James Michener

“People travel to faraway places to watch, in fascination, the kind of people they ignore at home.” – Dagobert D. Runes

“Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.” – Miriam Beard

“The use of traveling is to regulate imagination by reality, and instead of thinking how things may be, to see them as they are.” – Samuel Johnson

“Traveling is a brutality. It forces you to trust strangers and to lose sight of all that familiar comfort of home and friends. You are constantly off balance. Nothing is yours except the essential things – air, sleep, dreams, the sea, the sky – all things tending towards the eternal or what we imagine of it.” – Cesare Pavese

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

— — —

P.S. Some of the most inspiring travel quotes of all time used in this post were found on Matadornetwork.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2012 8:07 pm

    Kristina (I presume), what a beautiful and meaningful post! The photos are dreamlike and the quotes are for keeping.

    Very best wishes. Elliott (elliottingotham.wordpress.com)

    • June 22, 2012 5:17 am

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Elliott. I’m very glad to hear that you liked it, it means a lot to me! Hope that the photos and the quotes will inspire you to travel and to see some interesting places this summer. Kristina x

  2. Photographs by Peter Knight permalink
    June 20, 2012 8:26 pm

    Eton college chapel!! Always nice to see a familiar place!! 🙂

    • June 22, 2012 5:22 am

      The architecture in Cambridge is stunning, no wonder you recognised the chapel! I just wish there would have been less people and cyclists; I guess my next trip will have to be arranged for 5 am., when nearly everyone’s asleep. Knowing my luck – the town will be full of students returning from the pubs 🙂

Leave a Reply

