Skip to content

On Wasting Time + 2 July Images

July 4, 2012

It is hard to believe that this is already the 7th month of this year. I can hardly come to terms with the fact that not long ago I was admiring the first spring blooms and now the bushes are full of nearly ripe gooseberries! It seems that I must get my jars ready… (oh, that obsession to preserve!)

The whole rhythm of life, dictated by the laws of nature, is not such a bad thing – I do enjoy picking berries in the summer and raking leaves in the autumn, yet very often I wish it would be possible to freeze happy moments, to stop everything and to simply fit everything in! (This blog might have been neglected for some time, but soon you will get the full account of stories I have to share.)

At the moment I hope that at the end of this summer I will be able to say that I remember loads of early mornings, when I managed to get up with the Sun, loads of sunny days, when I was pleased I could hide in the shade of a big tree, loads of interesting trips and new places, where anything could inspire or push towards fulfilling old dreams. I guess it’s just my fear of wasting this beautiful time of the year…

I will leave you to keep enjoying summer with Alice Bloch’s (professor of sociology) thoughts on time and two images for your this month’s desktop.

“We say we waste time, but that is impossible. We waste ourselves.”

Please click on the image to see its full version, then right click and choose the “save  picture as…” option to download it onto your computer.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2012 9:25 pm

    I have similar feeling this time of year, and you expressed it so well.

    I wanted to just hug each day of June, hold the days close and accept the gifts of time, health, and material ease consciously while I’ve got them. I’ve had the gift of no deadlines and my partner being away for 4 weeks, so I can mostly follow my own rhythm. And it has been a string of pearl like days full of frog and birdsong, fresh gifts from the garden, and naps with the dog out on the deck.
    And cuddles with the neighbor’s horse, when I get to missing my hub too much.
    Enjoy, looking forward to hearing more about your adventures.

    • July 5, 2012 5:09 pm

      Sarah, you decribed your days in a way that makes me think that you are experiencing paradise! I’m sure you do miss your husband (4 weeks is a long time), but I think you’re lucky to have neighbours who own a horse.

      I’m not good at riding (falling from a horse for a few times made me think twice before I get back into a sadle), but I’d love to have an opportunity to stroke these pretty creatures or to have a true friend (well, I have a dog) that likes carrots and occasional sugar cubes.

      Enjoy your lazy days on the deck, hope the weather is kind to you.

      K. x

  2. July 4, 2012 9:26 pm

    ps. New calendars much appreciated, I’m addicted now, they are my permanent desk tops and I appreciate having the date there where I can refer to it easily. Plus the photos are lovely. thanks.

    • July 5, 2012 5:10 pm

      Thank you! I’m so glad to hear that there are people who like them. By the way, which did you go for?

Leave a Reply

