Skip to content

The Park

October 28, 2012

Mariel Hemingway once said that “finding some quiet time in your life, I think, is hugely important”. I think so too!

This time it was a short half an hour in the park. I should have done this a bit earlier, when the leaves were still brightly yellow, but I guess I have to be happy I didn’t miss the magic moment like I did last year…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2012 5:16 pm

    Very beautiful photos!

  2. October 28, 2012 9:01 pm

    Great photos and I always love the way you post them too!! 🙂

    • October 30, 2012 4:55 pm

      Thank you, Peter. You’re extremely kind! I’m very happy to receive such a comment. K.

  3. October 29, 2012 11:27 am

    K which country is the park in? I know you spend time between England and your homeland (blush, have forgotten which country exactly). It would add to my enjoyment to know where you were. By the benches it looks English, but then again, they could be anywhere, and they don’t look engraved with memorials. Something I used to find endearing in Holland Park where I stay when in London, and now find a bit much to be confronted emotionally every time I pass one by.
    I like the photos a lot, you did manage to catch the fall colours.

    • October 30, 2012 5:17 pm

      Hello, Sarah. This park is in Lithuania. To tell the truth it is actually a cemetery that was open in 1820, yet during the Soviet times everything was flattened and it was turned into a sculpture park (in 1977). I guess the younger generation think of it as a park, yet for e.g. my gradmother refers to the place only as to a cemetery. Some people still remember roughly where their loved ones were burried, so after Lithuania got it’s independecy back, they put grave stones. The place will be full of lit candles on the 1st of November (we do this to remember our deceased). if I get a chance I will take some photos for you.

      I love the tradition to engrave benches, this is such a nice way to remember people. We don’t do anything like that over here.

      K.

Leave a Reply

