Skip to content

The British Museum – Have You Been?

December 10, 2012

In one of the London guides the British museum is mentioned as the number one tourist attraction (the British Museum is a world leader in the conservation and display of objects from across the globe). After seeing the realm of exhibits, the way they are presented and the building and its architecture itself I don’t think I would argue… I’d say it’s definetely the King of all London museums’, guarding lots of very old World’s secrets.

Quadrangle building designed by the architect Sir Robert Smirke in 1823.

Quadrangle building designed by the architect Sir Robert Smirke in 1823

The famous domed ceiling - view from the Great Court

The famous domed ceiling – view from the Great Court


Some interesting facts:

– The origins of the British Museum lie in the will of the physician, naturalist and collector, Sir Hans Sloane (1660–1753). Over his lifetime, Sloane collected more than 71,000 objects which he wanted to be preserved intact after his death. So he bequeathed the whole collection to King George II for the nation in return for a payment of £20,000 to his heirs.

– The British Museum was founded in 1753. (Sir Hans Sloane’s gift was accepted and on 7 June 1753, an Act of Parliament established the British Museum.)

– It is the first national public museum in the world.

– The British Museum opened to the public on 15 January 1759 . It was first housed in a seventeenth-century mansion, Montagu House, in Bloomsbury on the site of today’s building.

– From the beginning it granted free admission to all “studious and curious persons”.

– With the exception of two World Wars, the Museum has remained open ever since, gradually increasing its opening hours.

– Visitor numbers have grown from around 5,000 a year in the eighteenth century to nearly 6 million today.

Please take a peek inside (some exhibits that attracted my attention):

bm3

bm4

bm5

bm6

bm7

bm8

bm9

bm10

bm11

bm13

bm14

bm15

bm12

If you would like to read more about the museum, please visit their official website and if you get a chance, of course do pay a visit!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. thecolourofideas permalink
    December 10, 2012 5:38 pm

    I love the British Museum, I could do with a trip to London yours looks like it was wonderful 🙂

    • December 11, 2012 12:56 pm

      Hello, Sandra. If you get a chance – rush to see London! It’s so pretty just before Christmas. I did enjoy my trip, yet it was very tiring and I’m now happily remembering all the pretty things I’ve seen sitting in my own living room… London is a great city, but it is always nice to come back home. Take care, K. xxx

    • Phoebe Randy permalink
      May 26, 2013 6:42 pm

      Theritically the British Museum is the place to see when you visit London- when me and my partner both went on a day trip we found it extraordinary. A must see place to go when you visit London. BTW: thanks a lot to Richard a member of staff in the Ancient Greek section in the British Museum- if it wasn’t for him me and my fiancé would have never learnt so much. Thanks a lot to Richard who has inspired my fiancé to work a part time shift in the local museum in the Ancient Greek section. And formy wonderful job in the secondary school I teach as a history teacher. I owe it to you Richie. Many thanks, Phoebe x

  2. December 10, 2012 6:29 pm

    ahh this post makes me so nostalgic, love it! When I was studying abroad we were just down the street from The British Museum, so we often used it as a walk through and would explore when we had handfuls of spare time. Other days we would just wander for a while checking things out. I love museums. Nice post, btw!

    • December 11, 2012 12:59 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m very glad that my post brought back happy memories! I’ve been there only once, but I do agree that it is a brilliant museum and I find it very inspiring that one man’s, i.e. Sir Hans Sloane’s, idea has been turned into something that big and special. Kind Regards, K.

  3. Jackey Trivell permalink
    May 26, 2013 3:26 pm

    I find the Britsh Museum a incredible building. From Greeks to Egyptians, the museum overs everything you need. I have gone there for past projects and I have found all the indormation I needed- and even more sometimes. It is one of my favourite buildings in the world, with many things to do and see.

    • Jackey Trivell permalink
      May 26, 2013 3:27 pm

      Sorry spelt information wrong.

  4. Minnie Dadger permalink
    May 26, 2013 6:45 pm

    A very inspirational trip! I must say very welcoming and helpful staff. M x

Trackbacks

  1. Fact: 15/01/13 – I want it all | MrTheKidd

Leave a Reply

