Skip to content

The Northern Renaissance in London

December 16, 2012

I’m still coming back to all the things we saw in London just a few weeks ago. Six long days were devoted to seeing architectural landmarks, magnificent galleries and rich museums; in the end I felt that in that one week I had walked to the Moon and back… (although a good friend of mine, who studied astronomy, proved that I definitely hadn’t).

I have taken hundreds of photos, but still not enough, as this time I’m sharing (sadly) just a few images from my first visit to the Queen’s Gallery and there could have been many more… Visitors are allowed to take photos there, but I think that the metal detector, that we had to go through before entering the exhibition, made me a bit nervous, so while viewing the exhibits I kept looking over my shoulder at the staff, frightened that I would be told off for using my camera.

The exhibition that we went to see is called The Northern Renaissance: Dürer to Holbein (on till Sunday, 14 April 2013). I was really impressed with the artists’ skill and precision and even the colours that were used – the paintings are extremely bright and rich in deep reds, blues and greens.

Lucas Cranach the Elder and workshop, Lucrecia - 1530

Lucas Cranach the Elder and workshop, Lucrecia – 1530

A short overview presented on The Royal Collection website:

“The 15th and 16th centuries were a time of dramatic change in Northern Europe. Monarchs vied for territorial power, religious reformers questioned the central tenets of the church and scholars sought greater understanding of their world. Against this backdrop, artists produced works of extraordinarily diverse subject matter and superb technical skill. This exhibition brings together over 100 works by the greatest Northern European artists of the period. Among the highlights are prints and drawings by Albrecht Dürer, mythological paintings by Lucas Cranach the Elder, and preparatory drawings by Hans Holbein the Younger displayed alongside the finished oil portraits.”

Hans Holbein the Younger, Sir Henry Guildford 1527

Hans Holbein the Younger, Sir Henry Guildford 1527

Hans Holbein the Younger, Sir Henry Guildford 1527 (detail)

Hans Holbein the Younger, Sir Henry Guildford 1527 (detail)

queen-g1

queen-g5

queen-g6

You can see some of the exhibition items if you click here.

A useful tip: a ticket to see the exhibition costs £9.25, but it can be turned into a 1-Year Pass. For information how to convert your ticket into a 1-Year Pass please click here. By the way, you can do the same with your tickets to Windsor Castle, Buckingham Palace State Rooms and Royal Mews.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2012 2:59 pm

    “Lucas Cranach” and we think that some of today’s artists are strange. 😉 Great post thank you.

  2. December 16, 2012 10:51 pm

    very striking shots – as artistic as the subjects

  3. January 5, 2013 2:57 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog, which allowed me to visit yours! I look forward to following you … I currently pretty much just follow photography blogs. I need to branch out!!

    • January 5, 2013 4:08 pm

      Thank you for following and for leaving a comment – it’s always great to hear from other bloggers! I hope you will like our posts. Kind Regards, K.

Leave a Reply

