Skip to content

Sunday Summer Dahlias & Ginger Tom

August 6, 2013

Sunday wasn’t wasted. I spent it lazily plucking flowers, arranging them into a vibrant seasonal bouquet and then… painting!

flowers1

I don’t want summer to end, so I’m trying to prolong it filling my days with all kinds of enjoyable activities (I think I could think of thousands of “projects”). For e.g. I haven’t painted for a while, so it was extremely nice to spend my Sunday outdoors, trying to capture all kinds of flowers – bright yellow dahlias, buddleja (also know as summer lilac), marigold, and even dill!

I used a palette knife, so don’t expect anything neat and tidy…

Voilà!

flowers2

Summer Dahlias, 2013 (acrylics on canvas)

As always, I invite you to be my art critics!

— — —

Oh, I also had a pretty spectator (I had to mention him, just to show you some cute feline photos) – a cat who came to the house last winter.

redge

We cut his dreadlocks in May (as soon as it got warm) and he has turned into a real beauty. Now this cat has a name – Mr. Reginald and probably a home… unless he thinks of the house as a B&B…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2013 4:21 pm

    Lovely painting, K. Looks like you should spend more Sundays outdoors with some flowers and paints.
    And Mr Reginald is a beauty. Wishing you many long years together.
    🙂 Sarah

    • August 7, 2013 10:10 am

      Thank you, Sarah. I wish I had more time for painting… I think I could spend at least 6 days a week outdoors with some flowers and paints; sadly there are lots of other things that simply HAVE to be done. By they way, I have decided to move on to oils. I’m not sure how I will adapt to the change, but I’m getting fed up with the same colour scheme. Oils are somehow more sophisticated.

      P.S. I’m already dreading the time when I have to wash my paint brushes…

  2. Patricia G permalink
    August 6, 2013 6:08 pm

    Well done! I like your loose marks and treatment of the background esp.
    Cute kitty too.
    Struggling with block so full of admiration.

    • August 7, 2013 10:17 am

      Thank you for your comment, Patricia. Really glad to hear you like my painting.

      The background is usually the tricky bit… I start with the background and I can’t move to the main part until I’m happy with it. Looking at it now, I think there are “bits” that should be mended, but I don’t think I will touch anything – there’s always a risk of ruining what’s been created… I’m such a timid person! 🙂

  3. August 6, 2013 11:32 pm

    wonderful!

Leave a Reply

