Skip to content

Coleus (If You Know What That Is…)

October 16, 2013

Following Sarah’s (Art Calling) advice I tried my pastels out on paper that wasn’t white. I haven’t’ bought any special paper (yet), so it was just a piece that came as part of packaging (I bet this shows my desperation…). I must have found it in a box together with my new shoes, so it’s not very even, but… this didn’t stop me!

Sarah was right – the colours do stand out and I didn’t have to worry about the background!

margenis

Almost complete…

I was going to once again draw some leaves, but on the way out, to get some “examples”, a pot with some cuttings of coleus (flowering plants in the family Lamiaceae, native to tropical Africa, Asia and Australia, cultivated for their highly variegated leaves) caught my attention. At the moment they look like poor relatives of the ones that thrived in my garden all summer, but the aim is to keep them going till the next summer arrives. I’ll keep them warm all winter and hopefully they’ll get strong (fingers crossed).

Anyway, here’s the end result.

margenis2

Solenostemon (coleus) – pastels on paper, 2013

I think it’s at least as colourful as the plants title… (Thank you, Sarah, for your good advice!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2013 7:25 pm

    K,it looks great! And you instinctively reached for a shade of paper that we used in art school on all our pastel studies. I love working on brown wrapping papers of every sort. It is a perfect background. What a happy coleus plant!

    • October 20, 2013 7:14 pm

      Sarah, your advice worked (not that I doubted it), so I think I’m going to do more plant studies using pastels (of course on brown paper)! There’s still one more thing I have to master though – to keep everything tidy. I bet it would be easier if I used watercolour ones, although these must be a completely different medium.

  2. Patricia G permalink
    October 17, 2013 10:22 am

    Yes great, the colours really sing out. It’s good fun to work on different surfaces. I wouldn’t even buy expensive papers – cheap sugar paper is good, recycling even better.

    • October 20, 2013 7:18 pm

      My dream is to make my own paper, yet I know I’d need to use a blender to chop the material, i.e. some paper or newspapers, into small bits and I’m scared this would “kill” it. I guess I’ll have to look into all kinds of “recipes”/technologies and maybe I’ll come across one that won’t seem too complicated.

Leave a Reply

