Skip to content

Just a Quick Print

November 19, 2013

I’ve been meaning to do some printing for #PrintOctober, which had been announced on Twitter, as you can probably already guess – a month ago! Of course I didn’t find time to do this then… as printing is a serious matter – you need lots of special tools; then a few days ago I came across a brilliant idea how to make prints using polystyrene packaging material. If you’d like to try this out you will also need an ordinary pen, a roller and some acrylic paint.

Probably the trickiest bit is applying paint, as you need a that little roller. (Using a brush you’d fill the little indentations and loose your drawing.) I’ll be honest with you – I didn’t have a special roller… but then I remembered that I have a roller for cleaning clothes. With a few extra tweaks I was able to use it as a professional artist! Well, you can see the results bellow.

print1
print2
print3
This was my first attempt, but I’m sure it’s not the last one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2013 6:28 pm

    love simply clever ideas and this is definitely one

  2. November 19, 2013 8:43 pm

    Love it … I played around with collographs a while ago as a friend has a printing press and inks, but it was quite complicated. I love the simplicity of this. Look forward to seeing some more.

Leave a Reply

