Skip to content

Christmas Gift Obsession

January 10, 2014

I got a weaving loom for Christmas (probably the best gift this year), but I haven’t done any weaving yet… I’ve started making colourful bracelets and I seem to be obsessed with tiny little beads at the moment.

I learnt to make such bracelets several years ago; simply found some useful tutorials online and created my own weaving loom using a lid of a shoe box (my Christmas gift is such an improvement!).

You don’t need many tools or expensive materials, but… you have to be extremely patient! It takes me the whole evening to put together less than 10 centimeters. Of course I don’t choose simple designs – the busier the better. By the way, there’re heaps of new ideas brewing in my mind, so you’ll have to wait a little bit before I can show you some finished products.

Meanwhile, here’s what the process looks like:

gift1
gift2
gift3
gift4
gift5
P.S. Long winter evenings are perfect for testing your patience!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Patricia G permalink
    January 10, 2014 8:35 pm

    Wow! Looks lovely. Hope you have good eyesight – or good glasses.

    • January 11, 2014 4:08 pm

      What an apt comment, Patricia. These beads are so small and the weaving process requires complete concentration! At the moment I need glasses only for watching TV or driving, so it’s not a problem as long as I have good lighting.

  2. January 10, 2014 9:39 pm

    What a coincidence, I was just thinking of taking out my bead loom again. I make the same sort of bracelet, when I have the patience! Yours look great. One of these days I’ll do an artcalling post about them and we can compare notes! Have fun, Sarah

  3. January 10, 2014 9:40 pm

    ps ordering a proper (simple) bead loom is really worth it, you can get a good tight tension on the thread.

  4. January 11, 2014 10:51 am

    sorry, totally missed that you got one for Christmas! Happy weaving.

    • January 11, 2014 4:11 pm

      Well, mine is just a wooden frame and it’s meant for weaving small textile garments, yours is much more appropriate for what we are trying to make.

  5. January 12, 2014 5:36 pm

    That looks fantastic! I’ve been looking for a new ‘busying’ hobby for a while and this will be it, with beautiful metallic beads.

    • January 12, 2014 6:08 pm

      Thank you! I’m really glad to hear you like them – I hope you will have fun creating such bracelets. Please let us know about your results! K.

Leave a Reply

