Skip to content

Not the Way I Imagined

February 12, 2014

Whenever I sit in front of a blank canvas and my subject (I must admit I don’t have enough imagination to create something completely abstract) I usually have a rough idea of what the end result should look like. Yet sadly I can’t recall a single occasion when everything went as planned. Colours change, some things simply evaporate and others are added – these are the benefits of artistic licence!

I guess this happens to many artists. Even Pablo Picasso said – “I begin with an idea and then it becomes something else”. 

My subject – the amaryllis, that was featured in the Silent Sunday post the first week of February, sparked up an idea to make everything very light and very subtle, everything had to be almost white, but it seems I can’t get away from myself…

amaryllis

Amaryllis (canvas on board, acrylics), 2014

The idea became something else… with the flower brighter than it really was and a screaming background.

It’s definitely not the way I imagined, but it’s the first finished painting this year.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2014 4:49 am

    I really like how your painting unfolded….- and I didn’t feel as if the background was “screaming” – to me — actually not at all.

    I found the yellow-gold (underneath the arched leaf and to the bottom right) well that seems to tone it down and almost steadies the flower – the gold feels like a stucco-kinda-Italian back wall – and lets the eye move up towards the flowers – and I like how that upper right one shows the light source. I know you said you were thinking white – and well, I like that very light feel to that corner – and I also like the blue all along the bottom and how this amaryllis is coming straight out of the ground (?) as opposed to in a vase on the table…. just like how you worked from the edge of the canvas.

    Lastly, I wish I could see a little bit more detail – but I think I like all that extra texture you left in the center flower (which I think is the focal point with the nice outlining…)

    🙂
    congrats on your first painting of the new year!

    ~y.

    • February 19, 2014 6:53 pm

      Oh… Thank you for this gift, Y! It’s really nice to “hear” how someone else views my paintings. If all of the colours and the way they flow make sense to you, then I’m really happy! It must have reached your soul, which is brilliant.

      I guess it’s always hard to be your own critic, well for me it is, as in many cases I’m a perfectionist. There aren’t that many paintings that I’m satisfied with (this one, as you can probably guess, isn’t one of them), but maybe that’s not a bad thing? Maybe that’s just something that makes me want to do better, something that pushes me to go further.

      Well, keep an eye on this bog – there’ll definitely be more paintings this year.

      K.

      • March 3, 2014 8:21 pm

        🙂 thanks for the reply — and I look forward to the coming works. ~y.

  2. March 3, 2014 11:54 am

    I really love this painting, Kristina. I glimpsed it whilst in London looking at my mails on paid computer time so couldn’t respond then, but it really made an impression on me.

    The design is strong, and you seem to inherently have a looseness which I have had to earn painting by painting after a tightly disciplined professional career in the visual arts.

    Please keep up with it, I feel it could be such a source of pleasure for you, perhaps. As it is for me. (When they are going well, of course!).

    • March 12, 2014 12:46 pm

      Thank you for expressing your opinion, Sarah. I was very glad to see that you liked this painting, as I value your skills and knowledge. I think that if (better to say “when” of course!) we meet up, there’ll be lots to talk about. Would be nice to organize a workshop so that we could paint and talk, talk and paint… and maybe even make bracelets?

      As for the painting – I have hung it in the kitchen, so that I can keep a closer eye on it, but I’m afraid I haven’t managed to like it. It might sound horrible, but I think it will become a gift to one of my friends. If I leave it in my house I will be tempted to paint something new on top… so hopefully it will find a better home where there is no threat 🙂

      One of my 2014 resolutions was at least 10 good paintings, so at the moment I’m not even sure if I should add it to this list… It can’t be that bad, but it’s something that can’t be explained – I just don’t like it. K.

    • March 13, 2014 12:36 am

      well I had to chime in about this that you wrote:

      “It might sound horrible, but I think it will become a gift to one of my friends. If I leave it in my house I will be tempted to paint something new on top…”

      because it was so well said!!!

      and it is such a reminder to me that we either like it or we do not – and sometimes if there is not middle ground it needs to go bye – bye – or like you said, covered with primer to maybe put the canvas to work on a piece we “might” like more.

      I am not a huge painter (I prefer to teach the subject – well actually I prefer to explore and learn about the subject most) but I do make my a few pieces each year – and well, BEST WISHES with your goal to make the “you like” this year!
      ~y.

      PS – last weekend we had a fun little art project for my son at his party – we had everyone at the party add some “drips of paint” and it came out pretty cool. I am going to blog about it tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

