Skip to content

One, Two, Three and Four

March 15, 2014

Today I went to a garden center that was offering discounts for plants, seeds and fertilizers (30% off in spring, I think it’s really generous). There was no way I was going to leave without at least a few primulas. The one you’ll see below was the brightest – I think that the colour combination is magical.

I was going to try and capture the blooms the best I could, but I’m sure you can see that it’s impossible to even come close to recreating Nature’s beauty (sometimes even in a photograph it doesn’t look as nice as in real life). For such quick sketches I choose watercolours and the biggest problem I always face is that there is no white colour (using acrylics white is the one that I apply last to show the lightest parts of the painting). Anyway, here’s today summed up in four steps.

primula1
primula2
primula3
primula4

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 16, 2014 3:47 pm

    I like all 4 stages of this,K. They each have their qualities. Gorgeous flowers.
    I know what you mean about not being able to approach capturing nature’s beauty.
    Maybe we could think about it differently, less as an attempt to reproduce something already beautiful, but painting it as a way to filter that beauty through our own senses and create a response or interpretation.
    I think it is much easier to paint something ordinary or even ugly which I then can infuse with my own colours, texture etc, than something already ‘beautiful’.
    Anyway, it is a lovely fresh watercolour.

Leave a Reply

