Skip to content

The Process

March 30, 2014

From time to time I come across blogs where artists share their painting process. I find it very interesting, as usually they start with something unexpected – you can clearly see that everyone has their own idea on how to paint. I also find it very educating, as analyzing how something is made from A to Z can offer a completely new view, which inspires to try different techniques, tools or even materials.

I’ve been thinking of recording my own painting process for a while now, but usually I have to work in a hurry, that’s why taking photos is seen as a massive distraction. Yet a few weeks ago I chose a relatively big canvas (I knew this wasn’t a one day masterpiece) and decided that it could be a perfect opportunity to at least try to photograph a few painting stages.

Key facts: acrylics on canvas painted using a palette knife.

Please don’t forget that these photographs haven’t been taken on the same day, so the lighting conditions were different.

process

I hope you won’t judge my drawing skills… To be honest with you I don’t even own a decent pencil – I start with a rough guide of the main areas and then it’s something that I enjoy the most – painting! I try to work on the background first and leave the focal point for the last session, this way the colours stay strong and fresh.

Here’s the end result:

Still-life With Mimosas, 2014 (acrylics on canvas)

Still-life With Mimosas, 2014 (Acrylics on Canvas)

I guess we can count it as 1 out of 10 good ones planned for 2014… and we are already nearly in April. (Shocking!)

Well, I’ve been always for quality, not quantity.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2014 8:24 pm

    I haven’t given up on your challenge – just haven’t had enough peace and quiet. I can’t work in a hurry, 10 minutes here and there.

    • April 1, 2014 1:52 pm

      I know how difficult it is to work in a hurry, sadly sometimes it’s the only way to do things… Too many animals in the house! I’ll look forward to seeing your special spring. K.

  2. April 4, 2014 11:53 am

    I enjoyed seeing your process here K. Really different from how I work, so it was interesting to see how you built up the layers. I think the painting is a success and like it a lot.

    You may just have provided the final little push to tip me into taking out that palette knife, I’ve been eyeing it for awhile now.
    Keep going.

Leave a Reply

