Skip to content

Merhaba!

May 12, 2014

Anyone who’s been following the @decorartuk account on Twitter must have noticed that I have disappeared a bit abruptly (this wasn’t planned, I had only 1 day to pack my suitcase!), but you might also have seen that I’m spending my one week holiday in Turkey (I’ve posted a few photos on Instagram).

I must admit Turkey doesn’t sound as good as the Maldives, Dubai or, if we talk about Europe, Italy or the French Riviera, but, as I’ve never been to this country before, this is something that counts as experience, right?

flag

I’m a very nervous flyer, so I can already put a very big cross next to one of the ten life tips I’ve posted together with the May desktop image – “scare yourself a little bit every day, it will expand your inner map”. My inner map must be the size of a football pitch at the moment and I can still feel it expanding, as I know that I’ll have to get back home the same way I got here…

Anyway, here are some first impressions:

May is the time to go – it’s not too hot (+22/+28C) and there aren’t that many holidaymakers.

If you don’t like lamb, you’d better like chicken.

The call for prayer (five times a day) adds some charm to the overall experience.

Cat lovers must carry food at all times!

The locals can be very “stubborn” offering their services.

If you haven’t mastered the art of haggling, better don’t buy anything – any possibility to rip you off will be gladly taken (while smiling widely).

— — —

I can’t tell you anything else at the moment, but I’ll try to post some photos later in the week.

P.S. If you’ve been to Turkey (or if you live there) and you think there’s something I should do/try, please le me know what it is. Thank you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2014 10:42 am

    was wondering where you were in cyberspace. Congrats on the fear facing – theoretically they dwindle with each challenge 😉 Not a country on my wishlist so look forward to more of this destination

    • May 16, 2014 3:17 pm

      Fear facing awaits once again tomorrow… so I’m not a happy bunny. I’m sure everything will go well, but I’ll be very worried for 3 hours, while we finally safely reach our destination.

      Turkey wasn’t on my wish-list and for the first few days I was scared I’ll be extremely homesick and probably even have to count the hours, but this week has flown by. Now I realise that there are certain things that you have to be aware of before you come here and that it is actually possible to find stuff that you could like, maybe even fall in love with.

      If you meet annoying people and this puts you in a bad mood consider your holidays ruined, yet if you meet someone who is proud to be Turkish, who smiles when you try to say some words in their language, who wants to share their traditional food recipes – that’s a completely different experience. (By the way, I’ve met both sets of people and I’m glad that the nice ones managed to change my opinion about this country before I went home sulking and saying that I’d never go back here again.)

      I’ll try to post some more photos and then you can decide if Turkey can be moved somewhere closer to your travel wish-list. K.

Leave a Reply

