Skip to content

Rijksmuseum – Museum Open 24/7

May 28, 2014

I had to go to the doctors today (nothing serious, even I wasn’t afraid of this one) and found the latest issue of Geo magazine in their waiting room. It was dedicated to the Netherlands, one of the countries that I’d still love to visit (I’ve been to Schiphol once, but that doesn’t count, does it?), and had a few good articles – one about Amsterdam, the other about their Rijksmuseum. Luckily I had enough time to read both.

Well, Amsterdam has it’s own charm and, if you know where to find something unusual (I don’t mean the red light district, by the way), far away from the maddening crowd of tourists, it can become a wonderful short break destination. Although after I’ve found out about the Rijksmuseum I think this short break should be a bit longer than just a weekend.

Rijksmuseum or the museum of the Netherlands was closed for ten years for refurbishment, it was reopened in 2013 and now its visitors “are greeted by a stunning building, amazing interior design, wonderful exhibitions, lively events, and many fine amenities for young and old”.

And how does that sound? “As a national institute, the Rijksmuseum offers a representative overview of Dutch art and history from the Middle Ages onwards, and of major aspects of European and Asian art“. This description has certainly whet my appetite!

The museum is open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., but what made me happy is the possibility to see many of the exhibits online, which means that this museum operates 24/7. You can choose your favourite artists, subjects or styles – it’s really easy to find things that interest you the most.

In fact, there’s so much stuff you can do online… You’re even invited to become an artist or designer and create a masterpiece that could compete with others to win the Rijksstudio Award (I’ll definitely have a go).

Anyway, I’ve introduced you. Now it’s time for you to dive into the wonderful world of art and enjoy using the modern age technologies that allow this.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2014 7:23 am

    Kathryn, We went in March. the website is amazing and you can download large images I found. You must go though, the building itself is stunning. If you go , the Van gogh is a must too! get there when they open. Much smaller. I wrote three blog posts about it. here’s one of them. Others either side. Sue x http://artbythesea.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/amsterdam-part-two-stunning-rijksmuseum/

    • June 3, 2014 6:39 pm

      Thank you, Sue, for this message. It seems that magazine didn’t try to mislead anyone – Rijksmuseum is really stunning. I did like the building, it certainly has lots of character. You covered 1/3 in nearly 3 hours? I guess I’d need at least a few days then… I like to look at everything very carefully, especially if I know that I won’t be returning to that place soon again. Oh, also need to remember to look up in the modern room! K.

      P.S. By the way, K stands for Kristina 🙂

      • June 6, 2014 8:45 pm

        why did I think you were Kathryn? sorry! 😉 Yes. I don’t often go to a place twice, but would definately like to revisit Amsterdam. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

