Skip to content

I Am A Thief

August 15, 2014

When I was working on this project I remembered one book that I’ve heard of – Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative by Austin Kleon. ( I’ve haven’t read it, but it’s on my wishlist together with Show Your Work! 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered by the same author. By the way, you can find a brilliant review of the latter on Sarah’s blog). In a minute you’ll find out what made me think of it. Lets get back to that project, that I’ve just mentioned.

I like quite a lot of things that remind me of the coast. I collect little pieces of glass and interesting pebbles, I love beach combing and the smell of drying seaweed, so anything that would remind me of the beaches gets a warm welcome in our house. A few years ago I saw wonderful sculptures made of driftwood and ever since was planning to make at least one of my own.

Anyway, here’s my theft – a driftwood lighthouse.

lighthouse1

Lighthouse (driftwood, nails, wire, stones)

I admit that the idea wasn’t original. I stole it! Gets even better – I’m going to tell you where I got it from.

If you’re an avid art/crafts blog reader you might have heard of a lady called Kirsten Elson. She’s a wonderful designer/artist. I love her blog called Sixty One A, as she has showed there lots of her beautiful creations. Her lighthouses and little houses are much prettier than mine, but what do you expect – she’s a true expert! She hasn’t updated her blog for a while, but make sure you look at the older posts illustrated with heaps of beautiful photographs.

And here’s what my lighthouse looks up-close.

lighthouse2
lighthouse3
lighthouse4
lighthouse5

I’m not sure if I stole like an artist, but I’m happy with my personal piece of coast.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2014 6:03 pm

    Another for your book list could be “Ignore everybody” by Hugh MacLeod… Love your little sculpture!

    • August 15, 2014 6:11 pm

      I’ve just started using Goodreads, so this book is safe on my “books I want to read” list there. Glad you like my sculpture. K.

  2. August 15, 2014 7:04 pm

    Thanks for the book review mention K.
    I love your little driftwood sculptures, it looks like you had so much fun making them.

    • August 19, 2014 6:01 pm

      Oh, yes, I had so much fun. You’re allowed to imagine me with a saw and a hammer, my tongue sticking out, no doubt!

      I needed some rusty nails, so my dad gave them from his collection (he has so many good things in his cellar!), probably for the first time ever feeling that it’s not so bad to have a daughter after all (of course she has to be able to handle manly jobs).

      Thank you for the link, as you can see I wasn’t the only one who found it interesting. K.

      • August 19, 2014 6:34 pm

        Imagining you completely engrossed in making stuff, the best way to be as far as I’m concerned, when I’m at my happiest.
        Great having a handy dad. Mine’s long gone, but I liked his cellar too, it was filled with plants growing under lights, always fascinating visiting that little world. My husband is a fine woodworker with a fully equipped shop, but nary a nail let alone a rusty one to find!
        The rusty ones do give it that extra touch, though.

  3. August 15, 2014 7:28 pm

    charming acquistions – thank you for Sarah’s link and bringing some of the seaside back to summer

    • August 19, 2014 6:10 pm

      I’d do anything to stop this summer… but I’m afraid even coastal beauties can’t stop it slowly (quickly?) fading away. K.

      • August 19, 2014 6:36 pm

        Our dazzlingly bright and warm summer got clobbered in the course of 3 days, where the weather changed to cloudy, stormy and cool. It feels more like autumn now, but they are promising warm weather again next week. Still the summer feels over. Like you, I wish it would last longer.

  4. August 16, 2014 10:21 am

    ps re: fun with driftwood, check this out
    http://jppyro.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/driftwood-faces/

Leave a Reply

