Skip to content

Our Hopes

August 24, 2014

When I do get a chance, which doesn’t happen very often, I read other artists’ blogs. Usually I spend a few hours looking at my favourite bloggers’ posts that might be quite old – there’s always so much catching up that needs doing, so please don’t be surprised that this time I am going to tell you about something that was announced in May.

A few days ago I was reading Birdie’s blog (you might remember my interview with Birdie; oh, by the way, even if you do, I recommend you read it once again – please click here) and my eye caught one of her titles – Paintings for Hope. I immediately assumed that it was a post about some good cause, maybe asking to donate paintings for a charity. Before I continued reading on I already knew I’d participate, as I enjoyed taking part in the 8×8 Project last year; so now you can imagine how surprised I was when I found out that paintings for hope actually are paintings for you and me or anyone else who is willing to simply share their hope with the artist Peter Seibt!

hope

Here’s what is said on the original 365 Paintings for Hope website:

“Since the 21st March 2014 at 12 o’clock CET, we are displaying a new painting every day for 365 days. One can be yours, if you like the painting and if it reminds you of your own hopes.”

Sounds pretty crazy, right? This time saying pretty crazy I also mean that this is PRETTY as in beautiful, as in kind, as in very unexpected!

“If you appreciate the painting and it reminds you of your own hopes – just apply and tell us a bit about your hopes. Plus approve the email we’ll send you afterwards. We would love to send the painting over to you.”

Am I going to take part? Of course! But I think you should do too. Also please don’t forget to spread some kindness together with Peter and his partner Heidi – let more people know that their hopes matter, OK?

— — —

P.S. I love the quote that was chosen to explain this project – “The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away. That’s how it is.” Pablo Picasso

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2014 7:41 pm

    I went to their site and it touched me very deeply. I loved the painting for today and immediately signed up for it (with many others including you??) . It gives me hope that i will be able to somehow find a way to give my own piled up work away in a way that feels good to me but still honors the many friends who have bought stuff from me over the years (tricky).
    thanks for this, K, xSarah

    • August 26, 2014 12:23 pm

      Have you won a painting yet, Sarah? I love the hope that you have chosen to share – there certainly has to be hmm… some kind of a scheme that would help you to decide what artwork you can give away as a gift and what should be sold, but most importantly you need to find inner happiness, so that you can be completely sure that everything’s going the right way.

      I haven’t signed up yet, as I’m waiting for a painting that I’d fall in love with at the first sight! Now I keep coming back to Peter’s website every day, as I’m waiting for the ONE. I might end up regretting that I didn’t send an e-mail for e.g. yesterday, for a chance to win, but that’s the way I am – extremely cautious.

      K. x

      • August 29, 2014 3:56 pm

        I liked the ‘blue crabs’ one from that day right away, I was sure it was for me, and I signed up and wrote why it gave me hope. But I didn’t win it, boo hoo.

        The more I thought about doing something similar, I saw how much organisation and commitment it took. And my hub thinks the artist is probably going to spend upwards of 5000 euros on postage by the time the project is done. Anyway, it still inspires me and I hope I find a giving way to release all the work piled up here. xS

      • August 31, 2014 5:53 pm

        gia sou (greek for hello) Kristina andSarah … we, Heidi and I, need also some time to look at the possible contradiction sold : given. Now it’s simple because those of my collectors, who are fascinated by the project apply and others not.
        Yes, it needs a lot of organization, every day a huge portion of our time. But it is exactly what we believe we have to do. All what we confess on the website or in facebook is simply true.
        And, yes, it is for us a major investment also in money. But it is also the end of daughts, compromises etc. Beginning the first day we got such intense, honest and neartbeating feedback, we learned so much about the hopes, that we feel sometimes breathless because of the risks and happy of the results, means relationships and communication with real human beings.
        Thank you very much. We hope you’ll come back to the wensite. From tomorrow on we have still 200 paintings.
        Warmest, Heidi+Peter
        We like your attitude for your blog very much. And those great bubbles, Sarah!

  2. August 25, 2014 6:50 am

    I did look for a while after Birdie posted the link, but for me it did the exact opposite of the intended. And then I forgot. I still think it’s a lovely idea, though.

    • August 26, 2014 12:26 pm

      What do you mean by the “opposite of the intended”, Pia? You didn’t want to share your hopes? K.

      • August 26, 2014 12:29 pm

        I found I had no words. I liked some of the images, but I could think of nothing to say to qualify for one. Perhaps I’m hope-less. 😉 And that made me sad because it started a whole train of different thoughts on future, failure, yaddayadda.

      • August 26, 2014 12:47 pm

        Oh… I see. So it was hard to hope for something while looking at a certain painting. I don’t think that you are hope-less, I guess that it’s just that the paintings didn’t evoke the right emotions or thoughts. Maybe you should have been a little bit more patient. I think you should still wait for the one that’s just for you – maybe Peter will paint some yarn and then you can hope for many more meters of colourful wool that will be knitted or woven into something impressive? 🙂 K.

        P.S. Try to get rid of rubbish, i.e. negative thoughts. You are brilliant and you’ve already achieved so much!

      • August 26, 2014 12:51 pm

        Thanks for the encouragement. ❤ I am having a little trouble finding my way these days, even on a day to day basis.

      • August 26, 2014 12:56 pm

        This won’t last. It never does. Simply some days are harder than others, you just need to keep calm and, of course, carry on! K. x

      • August 31, 2014 5:56 pm

        Hello Pia, this was in the beginning for some people a kind of a barrier: the hopes. But after a while…
        Shorthly somebody one a painting who fifty time applied wit most elegant words – never his hopes. Abd, believe it, the first day he wrote an individual hope: he won. We loved it.
        PS:
        Please come as often as you like. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

