Skip to content

Lets Keep Rollin’

January 12, 2015

These days I’m reading books that should inspire to move on, to never give up, to learn to be happy (with quite a few ideas how to spend 2015 I need to stay focused). Believe it or not, the trick is to have a goal and to invest time and effort, so that once you’ve reached your success, you could be sure you’ve done it yourself.

As this year’s direction is More Art (and Photography), all I have to do now is keep on rollin’!

rollin
In the last few months I have accumulated a pile of polystyrene boxes. Everyone around has been trained that I need them for my so called projects. My enthusiasm, that can be observed when I find this material, has been contagious – “look, I bought some cheese and it was on a polystyrene board!”.

The technique I use is really simple – carve out lines using an ordinary pen (much easier than cutting wood or lino and you don’t need any special tools).

Dahlias in a Vase, 2015

Dahlias in a Vase, 2015

 

Before I figured out how to create prints that would contain more than one colour (there’s quite a lot of information on the internet) I decided to experiment. The end result – colourful mixed media prints.

rollin2

Create a few prints for reference – don’t use much paint, don’t press too hard

rollin3

Cover some areas in paint (I used watercolour)

rollin4

Paint some more… and once everything’s dry print the same image on top

rollin5

The end result will look like that

Far away from being perfect… (as it’s a bit hard to match the two prints – by the way, I marked one of the corners of the board on paper using pencil, when making the first, i.e. reference print and tried to place it in exactly the same spot the second time), but art shouldn’t be perfect, should it?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2015 8:18 am

    the watercolour looks great on your print. I like a bit of misregister in prints.

    • January 14, 2015 7:12 pm

      Thank you, Patricia. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who thinks that art can have little imperfections. To be honest, in my opinion, that’s what makes some pieces interesting – sometimes even a blurred photograph falls into this category, although technically it should be a complete wright off. K.

Leave a Reply

