Skip to content

Snow (Real and in a Book)

January 24, 2015

We haven’t had a proper winter so far. By proper winter I mean season with temperatures bellow zero, frozen puddles and lakes, and loads of fluffy snow, that has to be removed from paths using heavy wide shovels. I can always dream… Meanwhile, it snows for one day and then… it melts.

So… I was a bit jealous reading Orhan Pamuk’s novel “Snow” where the element rages so hard that all the roads are blocked and no one can leave the city of Kars (Turkey) for at least a few days! Yes, this might be a bit over the top, but you must admit that big white snowflakes, slowly circling down from the sky, can be a very pretty and even calming sight.

Anyway, one of the mornings it snowed I rush outside to take a few photographs. Everything was turning white, just like in Orhan Pamuk’s book!

At the time it felt as if someone has put a huge white blanket over the whole region, but a closer inspection revealed some beautiful colours.

Here’s my January palette:

jan1

jan3

jan2

Our snow has gone, but I’m still reading that Turkish book, where so much happened while it snowed. I’m reading it and I’m hoping that we’ll still get a few beautifully white days before the 1st of March.

— — —

P.S. I had a look at the cover images that have been used for Orhan Pamuk’s “Snow” in different countries. I think one of my morning photographs could also be used for this purpose. You don’t even have to try and imagine it, here’s my suggestion:

snow-cover

If you ever write a book about snow and need a cover image…

P.P.S. If you know a writer who needs a cover for their book, please let them know I’d be keen to have a go at designing it for them. The bigger the challenge, the better!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2015 9:37 am

    well, if I had written a book about snow, I would ask you to design the cover 🙂 Lovely photos!

    • January 26, 2015 2:47 pm

      Thank you, Eoin. I really appreciate your kind words and hope that if you ever write a book (it doesn’t have to be about snow) you’ll ask me to design a cover for it 🙂 I’d do it as a gift. K.

      P.S. I’ve started working on that guest blog post. Not sure how long it will take me to write it though…

  2. January 29, 2015 7:14 am

    Gorgeous. I miss snow so much… Then I remember what it was like to put on a snowsuit to go dig the car out… It’s still beautiful. 🙂

    • January 29, 2015 7:39 pm

      Sadly some problems do come together with the snow, but it’s really nice to observe it, especially if you can do this from the depth of your warm house 🙂 The thing I dislike the most is ice on the pavements; when it’s slippery I feel that I walk like a duck, which must look ridiculous! K.

  3. January 30, 2015 6:08 pm

    I like the middle palette best with the dusky pinks 🙂 We had snow yesterday but today it’s thawed. I prefer to look at other people’s photos of it than have it disrupt my day! X

    • February 1, 2015 7:52 pm

      On palettes – I think that’s my favourite one too. On snow – I do understand that you view snow as another obstacle that might keep you locked up indoors for days. I agree, it can be pain in the bum, especially if it starts melting and then freezes. I prefer limbs that aren’t broken 🙂 K. xxx

Leave a Reply

