Skip to content

Just to Paint It

January 27, 2015

I think I’ve asked you before, but as it’s happened once again – do you ever buy something so that you could paint it? I do…

This time I bought white amaryllis.

ama1

It took three days for the blooms to open up. This gave me time to think or to build up the urge to paint. Everything ended in a real explosion of colour.

ama2

ama3

ama4

ama5

ama6

As Henri Matisse once said – “creativity takes courage”. It does, but it also provides so much happiness, so buying something just to paint it can’t be a bad idea!

White Amaryllis (gouache on paper), 2015

White Amaryllis (gouache on paper), 2015

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2015 1:12 am

    Nope, I never do:)

    • Claire permalink
      January 28, 2015 12:47 pm

      Totally do!! I have years of stuff backed up and waiting 😉

      • January 28, 2015 5:58 pm

        I love your collections, Claire! I wondered where you keep finding all the beautiful cups, cuttlery and backrounds 🙂 K.

    • January 28, 2015 5:58 pm

      You must be finding inspiration in something that can’t be bought 🙂 K.

  2. January 31, 2015 8:42 pm

    Yes! I’ve bought things just to draw or paint them. Besides, if you love it enough to want to paint it then it’s a good purchase to begin with. 🙂 Also, nice work! Beautiful painting.

    • February 1, 2015 7:46 pm

      Thank you for your kind words. Much appreciated! I’m also really happy to find out that there are more people out there who practice the “buying just to paint/draw it” lifestyle. So refreshing to hear this! Kristina

  3. February 1, 2015 10:02 pm

    I could just say no, but you’d argue that buying something just to photograph it is the same! 🙂 xox

Leave a Reply

