Skip to content

Important Moments

March 17, 2015

February was a month for monotypes – unique prints that are made by applying paint on glass then putting a sheet of paper on top of it and… drawing. The end result? The same drawing just reversed, sometimes blurry lines and a bit of noise, that might appear where you’ve accidentally pressed your hand too hard.

I’m in love with this printmaking technique – it’s not too complicated and doesn’t require any super equipment (i.e. printmaking press). I guess I might continue making tiny monotypes, I just need to be in a special mood, as the whole process can be a bit messy and I don’t like clearing up… Well, for now I have to show you a few of the recent ones that reflect what’s been on my mind these days.

M is for Marmalade, 2015 (size - A6)

M is for Marmalade, 2015 (size – A6)

M is for Marmalade – the best breakfast ever is… hot toast with a bit of sweet orange marmalade spread on top of it and a mug of coffee, of course.

Grape Hyacinths in an Old Mug, 2015 (size - A6)

Grape Hyacinths in an Old Mug, 2015 (size – A6)

Grape Hyacinths in an Old Mug – these tiny bright blue flowers are one of the first signs of spring, I like their design and I do think that they are simply fabulous.

Shells and Pebbles, 2015 (size - A6)

Shells and Pebbles, 2015 (size – A6)

Shells and Pebbles – I’m dreaming of my summer holidays, somewhere on the coast would be brilliant. This year I’d love to see a bit more of France. They must have pretty mussel shells near Le Havre, Deauville or Étretat? All these names sound so romantic (thank you Google maps…), I could start packing my bags right now!

Twigs that Come to Life, 2015 (size - A6)

Twigs that Come to Life, 2015 (size – A6)

Twigs that Come to Life – another sign of spring in our house. The more greenery, the better. The peak will be reached at Easter with our vases filled with tulips, daffodils and hopefully even ranunculus.

And here’s the most important moment…

Seedlings, 2015 (size - A5)

Seedlings, 2015 (size – A5)

Seedlings – sowing seeds (and later on re-potting tiny seedlings) is a serious job that requires lots of preparation. Sometimes it’s hard to find the time, but when you remember that on doing everything properly rests the beauty of the whole summer garden…

So this was my spring story. What’s been happening in your World lately?

P.S. If you like any of the monotypes, please get in touch. It would be hard to let them go to another home, but I might… My e-mail: decorartuk@gmail.com

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2015 5:34 pm

    Looks like loads of fun! I also hate the cleaning up process. The art is so much more fun when someone else has to clean it up after. 😉

    • March 18, 2015 6:31 pm

      It would be brilliant if we could employ cleaners and spend all day drawing and painting. Just knowing that the next day you can start having fun in a clean studio once again would work wonders! Meanwhile… having fun has to be followed by unpleasant chores.

  2. March 17, 2015 6:04 pm

    I like that way of creating monotypes. Makes it accessible to everyone. You could layer a couple of abstract background colors first and and then wash it off the plate. Then do the color for your drawing by turning the background-printed paper on to the plate and doing your drawing.
    Can’t wait to see what else you turn out!

    • March 18, 2015 6:40 pm

      Thank you, Susan, for your inspiring comment and brilliant ideas! I’ll definitely have a go at creating something completely different, i.e. monotypes with colourful backgrounds. Kristina

  3. March 18, 2015 10:35 am

    The drawings are really nice, keep on doing them!

    • March 18, 2015 6:36 pm

      Thank you, Eoin. If a real artist says that they are nice, they must have something that draws ones attention, right (smiling from one ear to another)? I’ll definitely do a few more now! K.

      P.S. There’s one more comment waiting for you on my blog. Your post is the most popular this year so far.

      • March 18, 2015 8:57 pm

        Oh, That’s really nice to hear. PS I’ve actually been away for a few weeks – in a place with no internet. I scheduled posts to appear while I was away. Forgive me if my replies have seemed a bit haphazard of late 😦

  4. March 22, 2015 9:50 pm

    Ooh I haven’t had marmalade in ages, bit hooked on plum jam at the moment 🙂 x

    • March 23, 2015 6:50 pm

      I love plum jam! I make my own every year. Sadly last autumn we had to chop down one plum tree, so I’m not sure if there’ll enough fruit for preserves this year… Wish we could grow oranges and lemons (love sour fruit), I’d definitely make my own marmalade! K. x

Leave a Reply

