Skip to content

48 Hours

May 3, 2015

The last few weeks have been really busy for me. I hardly had any time for the myriads of my ongoing projects, for tweeting or blogging and on top of that… my computer went wrong. I’m now trying to learn to use new applications and it’s not that easy (switching from Photoshop to Gimp is really challenging!).

I do apologize that there’ll be no desktop image for May (not sure how many of you will miss it). It might turn up a bit later, as I’m still hoping that everything will get back to normal soon. Meanwhile, I hope that the rest 28 days of this month are sunny, with plenty of pleasant brakes and loads of impressive blooms!

— — —

Talking about pleasant brakes, I’ve just had one – 48 hours in Holland. I can’t believe we’ve managed to see as much as we did, although, to be honest with you, we rushed everywhere and it’s only now, while sitting in my own living room, looking at the photographs that I took, that I can truly enjoy the experience (there are two things I regret though – not going to Van Gog’s museum and missing my opportunity to meet Sarah). I’ll tell you about the trip in detail soon, for now here’s what to expect:

I’ll tell you what I liked and disliked about the city of diamonds – Amsterdam (I didn’t see a single diamond, by the way).

am5

am1

There’ll be some photographs from the famous Rijksmuseum (sadly this was the only museum we had time for).

am2

You’ll hear (well, read, actually) about the Late Rembrandt exhibition at Rijksmuseum. The paintings were (and still are of course) amazing; Rembrandt is definitely the greatest figure in Dutch art of the Golden Age!

am3

There’ll also be loads of flowers; especially tulips, daffodils and hyacinths that I saw while visiting Keukenhof or the Garden of Europe (unbelievable 32 hectares of flowers!).

am6

IMG_1721-pola
Well, as you can see sometimes 48 hours can go a long way. Just try imagining what 28 days can be packed with! And now… go away from your computer and spend them wisely.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2015 7:15 pm

    The tulips are beautiful. Was just at the Amsterdam airport on way to Venice:)

    • May 5, 2015 6:50 pm

      Amsterdam’s airport is huge (I’ve been there on the way to Barcelona). This time we went on a motorway next to it and planes were taking off and landing every few minutes! Impressive, just as the tunnel you go through under the runway. K.

  2. May 4, 2015 6:49 am

    It is easy to pack in too much….I spent less than 48 hours in Amsterdam and didn’t see the Rijksmuseum….but highly recommend The Van Gogh museum…..so a reason to visit again!! Actually…I did visit the Rijksmuseum at the airport…..hmmmm I could enjoy 28 days there no doubt! beautiful tulips!!

    • May 5, 2015 7:03 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment, Rebecca. 28 days in Amsterdam would be good, but we’d need a bag of money – everything was a bit pricey. (For e.g. my visit to the Rijksmuseum came to 25 Euros, that’s just for the ticket.)

      Oh well, next time I’ll head straight for the Van Gogh’s museum, I’m really disappointed I didn’t get a chance to see it… There’s also a boat trip round the old town… Ann Frank’s house… So many reasons to go back there!

      Kristina

      • May 5, 2015 7:38 pm

        Yeah, I was going to say Ann Franks….that was also another highlight…but it is what you make it! And it is pricey! I know!! Each trip we make is a memory and so glad you shared yours!! Looking forward to your next trip!

  3. May 4, 2015 2:26 pm

    I totally understand about you not having time to contact me when in Holland. We live hours away from Amsterdam anyway, so it would have been hard to pack anything more into your whirlwind visit.
    I’m always curious to see what people associate with Amsterdam, and what they do when there. I haven’t been for several years, but when I go, I tend to wander around different neighbourhoods and walk along the canals rather than take in the museums.
    Next trip I really would like to see the Rijksmuseum though.

    • May 5, 2015 7:33 pm

      It was really nice to see Holland for the first time in my life (I should probably tell you that it was my dream to see it since I was a child). Hopefully next time I come I will have a bit more time for everything I’d like to do and see. Not sure how soon this will happen though… It would be really nice meet up for a cup of coffee (if you like coffee, of course).

      Amsterdam was very busy. Probably too busy for me – I’m not used to so many bikes whizzing round me even on the pavements! I loved the architecture and the people, they were really friendly and helpful. As for the Rijksmuseum – worth a visit, but be prepared for the prices of the tickets (paid 25 Euros – that was for the museum + admission to the Late Rembrandt exhibition) and plan to spend there the whole day (I mean it!). K.

      • May 5, 2015 7:49 pm

        Yes, I know what you mean about pricey. And I think there are long lines for the museums in tourist season. I know what you mean about needing a whole day for the Rijks. I’m not sure I could keep taking in all that art after more than several hours, though.

        Next time you are here, yes, let’s meet for coffee, or tea, or a smoothie, or……
        Sarah

  4. May 16, 2015 9:34 am

    I didn’t realise you were only there for 48 hours! Well done on making more memories and taking beautiful photos 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

