Skip to content

Cakes, Radishes, One Dog and Some Blooms

June 1, 2015

I’m really happy that May is over. It was a very busy month filled with lots of unpleasant interruptions (that’s putting it mildly)…

I do hope to have a good summer, blessed with pleasant emotions and positive changes. (Need more time for painting, that’s for sure! I might have already forgotten how to do this…) Meanwhile, here are a few new monotype prints that I managed to fit into one of my busy days.

may-print

I’ve been collecting sketches for a while, so it was just a question of gathering all of them into one pile and preparing my table for the actual printing process. Once I’ve done this, I got to the fun bit – drawing and looking at the unexpected mirrored end result.

may-print1

Summer Party, monotype, 2015 (size A5)

As you might already know I love all the sweet things in life and I must admit I’m already looking forward to some evenings spent outdoors tasting cute little cakes. (By the way, I’ve just received a new book that I will tell you about soon, I don’t think you’ll be able to resist some of the desserts I will show you!) Anyway, one of these days I’ll definitely have my best china and fresh flowers on the table and I promise not to moan about the annoying flies or even mosquitos…

Crunchy Radishes, monotype, 2015 (size A5)

Crunchy Radishes, monotype, 2015 (size A5)

This one is dedicated to vegetable that’s so easy to grow, yet every year turns out bitter! Someone told me that I should water them more often and I did, not sure this increased the quality of my radishes. They were perfectly round, beautifully pink, yet once again they didn’t taste right… (Don’t judge a book by its cover, right?)

Flowers and Bees, monotype, 2015 (size A6)

Flowers and Bees, monotype, 2015 (size A6)

This had to be my dog admiring a swarm of insects, but it’s definitely not him (Otis wouldn’t stand still, he’d be skipping like a kangaroo trying to get at least one of the poor bugs). I think this might be some noble whippet. Where did it come from? Maybe it’s one of Anna’s dogs – I love reading her blog!

may-print4

Freshly Cut, monotype, 2015 (size A5)

And the last one… just a tiny scene to remind me that the hard work we do while gardening should always be followed by something pleasant, for e.g. arranging flowers – when everything’s in bloom I don’t feel guilty using garden clippers.

— — —

So that’s all the news from my end. Shall we have a look what June brings us?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2015 4:41 pm

    a charming skip through the sketches – hope June brings better weather for eating radishes out doors – the answer apparently lies in the soil!

    • June 12, 2015 6:07 pm

      June so far has been a bit disappointing, but I’m trying not to loose hope… As for my radishes – the second batch (sown in a different spot) is nearly ready, so we’ll see what makes them bitter: the soil or the gardener. K.

  2. louect permalink
    June 3, 2015 8:43 am

    “A question of gathering all of them into one pile and preparing my table for the actual printing process”, ohhh yesss, I so recognize the feeling :). Happy to see your prints anyway! I like the dynamic of ‘summer party’ and the freshness of ‘flowers and bees’.
    Already looking foward to see the next prints 😀

    • June 12, 2015 6:21 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a nice comment. It’s a pity I’m not that quick at replying though… I do apologize!

      It’s so hard to turn our intents into actions and I’m really glad to know that I’m not the only one suffering from this hmm… indecision or hesitation or even a light form of some quaint disorder. As you can probably already guess I can’t promise there’ll be more new prints soon (I’d have to gather everything into one place – ideas, sketches etc. and this of course takes time). If you ever come up with an idea how I could speed this process up, do let me know.

      Kristina

      P.S. I like your blog, sadly French isn’t my strongest point… I could learn it of course, but here we are back to that intent – action dilemma…

  3. June 6, 2015 12:02 pm

    Beautiful beautiful, Stella doesn’t stand on ceremony for bees either! Hope your June is wonderful x

    • June 12, 2015 6:09 pm

      I’m wishing you girls a wonderful June too. I saw you two went camping (i.e. built a tent in your garden), hopefully you will have many more exciting adventures. K. xxx

Leave a Reply

