Skip to content

Lots of Masts

June 8, 2015

The first week of summer was filled with amazing tall ships that came to our town for the Baltic Tall Ship Regatta. I’m so glad I managed to get a day off (my garden) just to see them (I’m seriously busy in the garden at the moment – I don’t know where to turn there’s so much to do! I’ve also taken on a new lifetime project – 2 ha of land that I’d love to turn into an impressive park… By the way, this is one of the reasons my blog gets neglected.).

The weather was perfect – clear blue sky, warm sun and a mild breeze… There’s something very special about living on the coast (I’ll be honest with you, I haven’t been to the beach for ages, but the fact that I could do this any day of the week, if I wanted to, is very comforting.).

We didn’t get to see the ships in their full beauty – the sails stayed neatly folded on their masts, nevertheless they looked like true pieces of art.

sails1

Quite a few of them had marine code flags hung for the occasion. Alfa, Bravo, Charlie, Delta, Echo… sounds like a secret language. (And it certainly is. There was a time when I knew all of the flag meanings…)

sails4

sails2
The prettiest ship came all the way from Holland. (Just have a look at its name!) I must admit I’d love to spend at least a few days sailing on board of the Mercedes, but I’d choose a bit warmer sea than the Baltic (there’s nothing wrong with the Baltic, it’s just that it gets warm only in August).

sails3

It was a nice day out, despite the fact I didn’t get on board of the Mercedes… It was so easy for one’s view to get tangled in all these ropes and dream of far away destinations or imagine what our harbours looked like at least a few hundred years ago. I could even say I went on a journey without traveling anywhere and I loved it.

sails5
P.S. Today I’m back to weeding. Expect a long garden story with loads of colourful flowers; I might find time to drop my pitch fork and grab my camera.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2015 3:50 pm

    That first shot is my favorite. 🙂

    • June 8, 2015 7:39 pm

      Oh, thank you! I loved all the ropes and the way they form so many geometrical shapes.

      I might have chosen unusual angles for my photographs, but everything was done on purpose – I wanted to avoid all the crowds that were gathering round the ships.

      Thank you for commenting, much appreciated! Kristina

Leave a Reply

