Skip to content

In a Mood for Pink (and Other Colours)

June 15, 2015

I think I’ve already mentioned that I’m very busy these days – there’s so much to do (in the garden and at home)… I feel like I’m loosing my battle with the chaos that has overtaken every single bit of my life. Maybe I’m trying to achieve the impossible – do you think there’s a chance that one day I will get rid of every single weed in the garden and every single dust particle in the house? I seem to be working so hard, yet I can’t get everything right…

Anyway, while I can’t get close to perfection, some plants in my garden have already done so – mostly aquilegias (this year I’ve introduced one new species – Ruby Port, I hope it spreads well).

aq1

aq2

And here’s my favourite shot from today’s quick photo-shoot. I had to lay on my back on the path to get it right – I do hope the neighbours weren’t watching (although they should be used to my quirks by now…).

Ruby Port

Ruby Port

aq4

A little trick – correctly chosen angle – and you might believe that this garden should be featured in House & Garden magazine, right? Well the snowball bush, that you can see in the background, has certainly gone mad this year. As for peonies, they have always been my favourite flowers.

aq5

Some more irresistible pinks…

Nora Barlow

Nora Barlow

aq7

And one of the family members who can enjoy the great outdoors not worrying about the weeds…

aq8

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2015 5:08 pm

    Beautiful photos Kristina. I like the composition and lighting, you have a flair.

    In Holland aquilegia is called, oops elder moment, I’ll get it, but meanwhile, I have ‘Ruby Port’ too, never knew its name, as most of them were here when we moved in 27 years ago, and they just keep spreading. If they are happy, they are the easiest and most rewarding of plants. So nice to see them flourishing in someone else’s garden.
    (I think the Dutch name might just be ‘Aquilegia’!!)

    I’ll mail you at 3:00AM when I finally remember it for sure.:-)

    • June 17, 2015 6:22 pm

      Thank you, Sarah. Glad to hear you like these photos, as I took them during a short break, so it was just a quick walk round the garden without any serious preparation.

      Aquilegias are brilliant plants (they’re also called columbines, aren’t they?). I love the fact that they produce loads of seeds, it’s just that they bloom only in their second year. You’re right in saying that they spread well and that they are very rewarding plants, I think I should get more varieties (I must be mad as it’s already hard to find empty space in our garden!).

      Lithuanian name for them is “sinavadas”, which always reminds me of the Latin phrase “vade me cum” (come with me). I suppose they are plants that can “walk”, as they move easily from one corner of the garden to another, so it’s probably all right to use this analogy to remember their name. (Not sure what sounds like aquilegia though… maybe that’s why this word is hard to remember.) K.

  2. June 15, 2015 5:55 pm

    Wonderful photographs, including the dog:)

  3. mvobsession permalink
    June 15, 2015 9:47 pm

    Beautiful.

  4. June 16, 2015 11:10 am

    Beautiful shots!!

Leave a Reply

