Skip to content

RA Summer Exhibition 2015 (Online!)

June 22, 2015

I haven’t posted anything on art for such a long time, that I have almost forgotten how to do this (I haven’t posted anything at all for a week, which is unheard of… once again too much on my hands at the moment). The best way, I guess, is to show you loads of visual material, as art is usually a feast for one’s eyes, right? So…

You must have heard of the RA Summer Exhibition, haven’t you?

If you haven’t – it’s the largest open art exhibition in the world, which means that EVERYONE is welcome to submit their artwork. I found out about it several years ago and fell in love with the idea. Don’t you think that an opportunity to show your work together with someone already famous (or even better with an artist whose work you admire) is extremely tempting? But… you must be prepared to spend some money (from memory entry fee is 25 pounds and you can submit no more than 2 of your masterpieces) and, of course, to face the rejection bravely (there must be thousands of people trying to become the chosen ones).

I’ve never been to this exhibition. The closest I got to it was when I was thinking of buying their catalogue last year – I must admit I’m even more curious than a standard cat, yet somehow that time I managed to keep my purse shut (not sure why). And what do I find out this year? That you can see this exhibition online! All of the 1131 artworks – simply click here.

Here are some pieces that caught my eye browsing some of the categories that were presented on the RA website (next post will be about my personal favourites, I just need to find the time to look at all 1131 exhibits...)

Best of British

Errol Neill CHANGED TIMES, oil (image was found here)

Errol Neill CHANGED TIMES, oil (image was found here)

All creatures great and small

Hughie O'Donoghue ANIMAL FARM, carborundum (image was found here)

Hughie O’Donoghue ANIMAL FARM, carborundum (image was found here)

15 shades of grey

Jo Gorner SCISSION 2, etching (image was found here)

Jo Gorner SCISSION 2, etching (image was found here)

Abstract thinking

Barbara Rae COLONY - JANUARY, acrylic and mixed media (image was found here)

Barbara Rae COLONY – JANUARY, acrylic and mixed media (image was found here)

P.S. If you’d like to find out more about this exhibition I suggest you visit Making a Mark blog and read Katherine Tyrrell’s post 10 reasons why the RA Summer Exhibition 2015 might surprise you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2015 6:06 am

    Fab, I always want to go and never get there.

    • July 7, 2015 7:54 pm

      All you had to do, Sue, was to wait patiently, until the exhibition came to your house. Have you picked your favourites yet? K.

Leave a Reply

