Skip to content

Loads of Words in Italic

July 5, 2015

It seems we’ve finally got what we were waiting for – real summer! The temperatures have reached 30s (well, if our thermometer isn’t trying to pull our legs they’ve been closer to +40C these days). Combination of good weather and good mood (tomorrow is a bank holiday over here) brought us all out into the garden. Morning was spent in the sun, yet around midday we’ve started looking for some shade…

What do you usually do on a Sunday when it’s too hot to do anything serious? By serious I mean for e.g. housework, gardening, sunbathing (professional sunbathing, i.e. on a proper beach) or traveling to some nice place. Please don’t tell me you watch TV, that’s boring (my other half would be terribly angry if (when?) he reads this…). I choose to read a good book or… to paint.

I read yesterday, so today was for painting (although I try to read at least a little bit every day).

liepa1a

A bunch of flowers from the garden and a few bottles from this year’s colourful bottle basket collection and I was ready. The quicker, the better – quite often I put off doing something I enjoy doing, just because I can’t be bothered to go through the whole preparation process.

liepa2

There was no spare canvas in the whole house (I did search), so it had to be an old piece of cardboard.

liepa3

Usually I don’t mix colours, I prefer them to be bold and clean, yet this time I needed lime green for one of the bottles, so I had to master this particular witchcraft

liepa4

I forgot my pencil and was too hot (lazy?) to go back in and fetch one, so there was no sketching phase – I went straight to the real business

liepa5

Before you say anything – I know that the background is wrong, but…  there’s no wrong or right in art, right? I wanted it to be blue, so stayed blue.

liepa6

Lets call this painting Study No.1, as I think there’ll have to be more, but not tomorrow… Tomorrow it will rain. It seems I’ll have to wait till I get some canvas, a tube of lime green paint and till the sun’s shining bright once again.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2015 9:11 pm

    great title and lovely summery post…and seeing your painting come alive. May the sun keep smiling on you!

    • July 7, 2015 7:05 pm

      Thank you for your kind wishes, Laura. I hope the sun won’t forget to visit London as well! K.

      P.S. They say it will start raining on Thursday and will continue for at least a week…

  2. July 16, 2015 5:37 pm

    No sketching? You my friend are a very talented girl! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

