Skip to content

Preserving Memories (with BloomNation)

October 18, 2015

About a month ago I found out about flower delivery by BloomNation. Have you heard of them? BloomNation is a trusted community marketplace for people to list, discover, and send unique bouquets handcrafted by local florists across the USA. I think it’s a brilliant idea. It would be really lovely to get flowers directly from florists who have not only carefully tied that unique bouquet, but maybe have also grown these flowers themselves. I’ve always supported the idea – the smaller, the better. To my mind big companies loose quite a lot by adding links in the chain between their services and their customers. Quality service has to be personal, don’t you think?

Anyway, I find BloomNation’s philosophy very inspiring, that’s why I agreed to share some of my floral adventures, that they might want to add to their boards on Pinterest or their  Twitter or Instagram feeds. How exciting!

As this was going to happen in the middle of September I was going to show my dahlias. I planned to take photographs of extremely colourful bouquets that would illustrate the beginning of autumn. I didn’t have time to do this before I left for Greece, but I did hope I’d still get a chance to pick some blooms when I came back. Sadly in the time I was away we had our first frosts, so all of my beautiful dahlias simply turned brown. All what was left was to grab my pitch fork and lift all the tubers to be stored in the cellar over winter.

It had to be a very bright post, but now it has turned into something more subtle… For my plan B I had to turn to my home-grown lavender.

— — —

memories2

Dried lavender from my garden

I cut mine at the end of August and dried it. (No special drying technique – kept them in a bucket in my greenhouse.) Most of it lost its beautiful blue and lilac hues, but they certainly haven’t lost their rich aroma! I’m not sure what would help to preserve colour, if you have any ideas, please do let me know, as visual impact is as important (if not more) as the pleasant scent.

memories3

Probably more than a few hundred stems

I tied loads of stems into a neat bunch – to keep everything simple and natural I used ordinary linen rope.

memories1

Pebbles and shells collected on the beach of the Ionian sea

And here’s the colourful bit – instead of putting my dried bouquet into an ordinary vase I put it into my holidays’ jar. I bet it sounds silly, but there’s nothing strange about it, as my holiday’s jar is a see-through jar filled with pebbles, pieces of glass and shells that I brought from my last journey.

memories4

Holiday’s jar

And here’s the end result – preserved memories from my garden and far away coasts. (My bathroom smells divine!)

memories5

If you are as fond of flowers as I am I hope you are creating colourful autumnal arrangements. Maybe brighter and fresher than mine?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2015 5:56 pm

    I don’t know how you’d preserve the colour; they would look even more stunning in your holiday jar 🙂 I have a jar with shells and things too…great minds…! 🙂 x

    • November 10, 2015 7:41 pm

      There must be a way to preserve colour… I’ll have to find it before next autumn. As for shells in jars – I think they are brilliant. K. xxx

Leave a Reply

