Skip to content

The Sentimental Raker

October 24, 2015

The Sentimental Raker could also be called The Story of One Chokeberry Bush. To make matters less confusing – that sentimental raker is me and the chokeberry bush? Every autumn it is the prettiest bush in our garden!

aronija1

Every October its leaves turn bright red, orange and yellow. This colour scheme is so bright that it looks as if our chokeberry is on fire. I like to keep our lawn clean, so I rake old leaves almost every evening, yet when I get to this bush… I start picking the pretties ones and always end up with huge piles of “saved” exemplars. Sadly they loose their strong colours when they dry…

aronija2

aronija3

aronija4

aronija5

aronija6

aronija7

aronija8

My advice: if you have a reasonably large garden, plant a chokeberry bush. You’ll know you did the right thing when you see it in the autumn.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2015 9:18 pm

    Beautiful photos! I love the fall colors too. All the bright yellows, oranges, and reds pop on the fading landscape. My yard is too small for another bush but our blueberries bushes do get pretty fire like.

    • November 10, 2015 7:34 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving this lovely comment. I haven’t got any blueberry bushes, but if they add charm to your garden in autumn I suppose I should consider getting some. And if your yard is too small for more bushes you could add small pots with winter cabbage – this would add stunning greens and violets to your autumn palette. Kristina

  2. October 24, 2015 9:30 pm

    It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

