Skip to content

An Unusual Morning

November 22, 2015

There aren’t that many things in life that I can’t resist… the first frost each year (usually in early November) is one of them. And as it is much healthier than dark chocolate, I hope you won’t mind me sharing some photographs?

frost7a

Guess what I did first thing this morning. I found my camera. The dog was shocked. Every dog with good manners knows that as soon as you wake up, you go out to play with the ball! I’m glad he was patient and our first beautifully cold morning went well.

Anyway, can you spot this time of the year unusually looking peony, apple tree, strawberry, Chinese lantern fruit, hydrangea and blackberry? Can you guess which one is which?

No. 1

No. 1

No. 2

No. 2

No. 3

No. 3

No. 4

No. 4

No. 5

No. 5

No. 6

No. 6

I’m sure that soon my excitement will wear off and I will be looking forward to spring… and more importantly our mornings will return to the normal routine i.e. getting up and hurrying outside just to play with the ball.

— — —

The correct answers – peony (2), apple tree (1), strawberry (5), Chinese lantern fruit (4), hydrangea (6) and blackberry (3).

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2015 6:56 pm

    Excellent photography!!!

  2. November 22, 2015 7:55 pm

    Lovely.

  3. November 22, 2015 9:52 pm

    Beautiful photos!

    • November 24, 2015 2:26 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a lovely comment! Kristina

  4. November 23, 2015 5:17 pm

    beautiful, I love the first frost and how magical it makes everything appear. We are heading into summer here with hot muggy days, thanks for sharing a little frosty magic. xx

    • November 24, 2015 2:32 pm

      Thank you for stopping by, Allie (right?). I’m really glad that you liked my photographs and that you share the same passion for the magic that frost can create as if out of nothing. Summer’s a nice season, so I am a bit jealous… although I’m used to white Christmases… But as soon as it’s over I’d gladly hop into the hottest season of the year! Kristina

  5. November 24, 2015 2:20 am

    Lovely fall pictures. However, nothing trumps dark chocolate, especially cold weather. LOL

    • November 24, 2015 2:37 pm

      Oh, Ruth, you’re so right about dark chocolate! Luckily photography is a quick process – I just run outside, take a few photographs and then I’m ready to go back in and… have a piece of that bitter sweet stuff. K.

      P.S. Glad you liked my images.

  6. Winterbourne House and Garden permalink
    November 27, 2015 11:29 pm

    These are really beautiful photographs although the first frost can be a somewhat terrifying experience for the gardeners among us! We have just posted a piece about a different kind of garden photography https://diggingfordirt.wordpress.com/2015/11/01/the-artist-gardener/ Hope you enjoy it as much as we enjoyed yours.

Leave a Reply

