Skip to content

Before Christmas (#OtisChristmaspost)

December 13, 2015

I had so many plans for this Christmas and, although I was panicking I wouldn’t have enough time for everything, I managed to do quite a lot. (Don’t worry I haven’t finished… and I’m yet again heading for the last minute shopping and packing situation…)

First of all I made some decorations. Nothing fancy, just paper snowflakes tied together into a small garland, but as they were not the simple flat ones I’m going to add them to my constantly growing Christmas decorations’ collection when this festive period is over.

snaiges1

I found a lovely tutorial on Pinterest – it’s right here, in case you want to make some as well. It’s not that difficult, yet prepare to be patient. Folding, securing the middle, cutting out little pieces and then gluing the two sides together isn’t a huge challenge if you decide to make only one snowflake, but you might have to sweat a bit in order to have a pretty garland.

snaiges2

One more seasonal project – my own Christmas post stamp. Now this one was inspired by the latest trend – colouring books for grown-ups. I wonder who the first artist to draw one was… Now there are hundreds of such books depicting various subjects – flowers, animals, maps, buildings, patterns etc. Have you got one already? No? Choose one for your Christmas wish list – apparently colouring can help you prevent dementia.

stamp1

Anyway, my stamp was just a small experiment as I also wondered how hard it would be to create a book like that. What did I find out? It would take me ages!

Well, some of the stamped envelopes are leaving my home tomorrow, lets hope they get to point B before Christmas Eve.

stamp2

P.S. I’ll risk… if you’d like to receive a Christmas card from me, with my own post stamp on the back of the envelope of course, please e-mail your address. And if you decide to colour it, please share the end result on Twitter on Instagram using this tag – #OtisChristmaspost.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2015 6:53 pm

    Stamp is fabulous! … hope you don’t regret offering to send out cards … 🙂 (PS..oh go on then, pop me on the list…lol)

  2. Claire permalink
    December 14, 2015 11:26 am

    I’m impressed – I don’t think I’d have the patience for snowflakes but I love the result.x

    • December 14, 2015 8:08 pm

      You wouldn’t have enough patience? Claire, you must be the most patient artist I know! How much time does it take you to paint one of your watercolours? I think I’d better be making these snowflakes… Your artwork requires such concentration and skill, and patience, that I don’t think I’d ever be brave enough to try painting anything like that. So thank you for your kind comment and try making some artificial snow 🙂 K. xxx

  3. December 17, 2015 2:37 am

    Love the little doggie stamp!

  4. December 31, 2015 10:23 pm

    I loved the Otis stamp on my Christmas card; doing quite a few must have taken you a while but was very much appreciated 🙂 Happy New Year to you all xox

Leave a Reply

