Skip to content

My Pretend Spring Break

February 21, 2016

I’m having a short spring-like break. Sadly this spring is only an indoors one; it’s on my kitchen window. The so called break is also not a real pause… I’m busy getting ready for the coming gardening season – reading books, collecting hundreds of seed packets, drawing garden plans (you should see my list of vegetables and flowers that I plan to grow this year!).

Before I find more time for blogging and other pleasant activities I will leave you with a few images of my indoor garden. Lets concentrate only on positive stuff in life. My view –  it’s sleeting outdoors, it’s too early to plant out seedlings, so what!? (Just an idea – you can always be an urban gardener, right?)

feb-flowers1

feb-flowers2

feb-flowers3

feb-flowers4

feb-flowers6

P.S. “One of the healthiest ways to gamble is with a spade and a package of garden seeds.” ― Dan Bennett

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2016 8:16 pm

    Lovely. 🍓

  2. February 21, 2016 9:09 pm

    So inspiring and beautiful.

  3. February 24, 2016 1:09 am

    I love indoor flowers! I’m getting ready to change out some things here as they are getting a bit raggedy and too sparse after so many years. I’ve found that if you find the place they want to be, you can have nice plants without a great deal of effort. I have had some Christmas cacti for almost 2 decades and they rebloom in the winter. No special attention. I just found the right spot.

    We are supposed to get rain/snow the next 2 days. Here’s hoping no sleet.

    • March 1, 2016 7:09 pm

      What’s the weather doing at your end these days? The first day of spring was really cold over here, so I guess we can sill expect sleet and even snow… It would be silly to get rid of my gloves and scarf, not yet.

      I used to have a nice Christmas cactus, but it wasn’t happy in our house. (They are really impressive when they bloom, aren’t they?) Now we have quite a lot of orchids, they seem to do well in our kitchen. I’d love to get a tiny orange tree, but I’m scared I wouldn’t find that magic happy place and then the plant would sadly die…

      I hope everything’s well, Ruth, and that you’re finding plenty of bright and colourful blooms to inspire you while we are waiting for warmer days. Kristina

      • March 1, 2016 8:48 pm

        The weather is definitely getting more springlike, but I still need my coat, hat and gloves. It has been pretty nice with the temps in the 60’s, but it is going to get colder again by the end of the week. I have not had great luck with getting orchids to rebloom. I have had my Christmas cacti for decades though and while they don’t rebloom as lushly as store bought ones new, they do just fine and often have several blooming times, starting in November.
        I am always glad to see spring arrive. I’d like to get some larger blooming plants, but I have to be so careful as I have brought in aphids with them and that is a mess.
        Many years ago, when my husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday, I didn’t really want or need anything, and so I said I wanted a bouquet of flowers for my countertop the first of every month. They didn’t have to be expensive or really fancy. The $5 bouquet from the grocery store would be fine. He has done this for many years now, except when I have flowers from the beds to bring in. It is one of the nicest gifts ever and I always suggest it if someones says they don’t know what to ask for or to give. It is always lovely to have them there, even if only for a week or two at a time.

  4. March 12, 2016 10:28 pm

    I like your Spring indoors! Lovely 🙂 x

    • March 13, 2016 5:48 pm

      Thank you, Lisa. There finally are some snowdrops in the garden, so I guess soon I will be able to move outdoors. Can’t wait! K. xxx

Leave a Reply

