Skip to content

#StudioStory – February

February 28, 2016

Despite the fact that this year February has an extra day, it still seems like a very short month… I guess we are so in a hurry to welcome in proper spring, that we forget to value winter with its unexpected snow showers (although they shouldn’t be unexpected, February is well known for its fierce blizzards over here) and good reasons to stay indoors (imagine listening to good music or reading brilliant books next to a roaring fire just because it’s sleeting outside).

Well, waiting for the first snowdrops to come up in the garden I nearly missed my chance to tell you my February #StudioStory, so if you’re ready, here it is.

Palette knife is for frredom

I always have to be in a certain mood for a palette knife…

There was a time when I didn’t understand the importance of sketching. Why do that? If you plan to paint something, just do that – this was my motto. I guess I was always scared that my sketches might turn out better than the next stage, i.e. the actual painting. But… all fears are silly, right? So I’m glad I managed to change my attitude; don’t know how, but I’ve finally got rid of that anxiety.

Now I can enjoy sketching. I use it to record everything I see around (usually my sleeping cats and my dog, although he doesn’t want to stay still – I’m sure he fidgets on purpose!) . It’s not as quick as taking a photograph, but it’s really rewarding if you get the mood right.

One of last month's sketches

One of last month’s sketches

Anyway… lets get back to the main story line. I was quite happy with my last month’s hanging dog sketch, so I decided to turn it into a painting. There was no fear it wouldn’t turn out well, this is why I chose bold colours and even used palette knives, that don’t go with accuracy and precision.

Whoever I showed my finished painting to didn’t know what to make of it. Two people even managed to see some potted plant (apparently they were looking at it upside down). Hmm… I was beginning to believe I’ve reinvented the famous Rorschach’s inkblot test… So when I took this painting to be framed I was scared they’d decide it has to be hung for e.g. horizontally! Luckily the men who do this job lacked imagination. On the receipt I received together with my already framed hanging dog I saw just one word “chair”.

The Hanging Dog, 2016 (acrylics on canvas)

The Hanging Dog, 2016 (acrylics on canvas)

What do you think? Is the sketch better than the actual painting? And even more importantly – can you see a chair and a dog?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dale harkness permalink
    February 29, 2016 2:02 am

    There’s definitely a recognizable, sleepy hound draped over the chair catching some zzz.s in the sketch and the painting. Nice job capturing the essence of the scene in both cases.

    • March 8, 2016 7:46 pm

      A belated THANK YOU for your very kind comment. Means a lot to me! Kristina

  2. June 25, 2016 9:06 pm

    Firstly, I am both sorry and ashamed that I am so behind with visits and comments! Life is very chaotic at the moment. Please forgive me x

    Secondly, I think I prefer the sketch, it just has a sweeter quality to it for me. Though even upside down goodness knows how people saw a plant! I’ve never even tried painting with a palette knife so I admire your boldness my friend 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

