Skip to content

Easter and Creativity

March 29, 2016

After two weeks of silence… I’m back.

I’m not sure how much time I will be able to devote to blogging as we have finally entered the busiest period of the year (for gardeners that is), when every minute spent on things other than seeds or seedlings is a minute wasted, but I will try to do my best! (For everyone who’s laughing at my busy sowing timetable – I’ve recently bought a climbing rose and its hardiness is described as H6. This scale has only seven stages – it starts with H1, marking plants that are extremely sensitive to cold conditions, and ends with H7, describing plants that can survive temperatures below -20C. So as you can imagine H6, being nearly at the end, is pretty bad. Our gardening season is really short, no wonder we have to invest lots of time and effort in order to prolong it.)

Well, first of all I hope you had a lovely Easter? I did. The weather was brilliant, so we went for quite a few walks along the coast. Oh, and I’m especially glad I learned something new – an interesting egg “painting” technique! You could try it out next weekend, to celebrate Sunday after Easter. Actually this is an easier version of decoupage and it’s finally something different to painting eggs using onion skins, which we have been doing for years.

easter

You need: boiled eggs, pretty napkins, a small paint brush and some egg white.

Instructions: lay only the very thin top layer of the napkin on your egg (tear out pretty motifs) and, using a small paint brush, paint egg white over the top of it. It will stick to your egg and you will be able to add another picture/motif. Keep collaging napkin pieces till you’ve covered the whole of your egg. Everything will dry in about ten minutes.

Well, I hope that spring time has brought you loads of energy and enthusiasm to start new projects (and finish old ones). But if you get stuck (like I was for the last few weeks), here’s what I’ve found – 10 Creativity Exercises to Overcome Your Fears – please click here.

I read this article and found so many familiar situations! For e.g. looking around and deciding that my space’s too chaotic, so I’d better do some housework… or thinking that tomorrow’s going to be a better day for painting… or worrying that my work is not good enough. If you recognize yourself, make sure you try to put your fear in its place! Do the opposite of perfect, commit and finish, give yourself permission to do things badly etc. Take action and start with this great article.

Anyway, enough for now. Simply remember some woman’s wise words –  “we are here to create”! I’m wishing you all a belated HAPPY Easter and lets meet soon again.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2016 9:19 pm

    Wow! Beautiful designs.

  2. March 30, 2016 10:20 am

    Great decoration on the eggs well done. Best wishes Brian

  3. March 31, 2016 2:50 am

    Love the Easter eggs. It would be a fun way to spend an afternoon. I went over and read the fear exercises post. Some interesting points to ponder. I think the hardest thing for most people to get is that nothing has to be perfect the first time you try. Allow yourself to experiment and fail. The “circular file” is not an enemy but can actually be proof that you tried something new. Just because it might not have worked out doesn’t mean you didn’t learn something important on the way. This was hard for me to learn, but it is very freeing.

  4. March 31, 2016 1:31 pm

    Those eggs are so pretty 🙂 Enjoy all the work in the garden! X

    • April 1, 2016 5:04 pm

      I bought so many flowers today… including the first 2 peonies out of the 50 that I plan to plant this year. Sadly it’s still a bit too cold to plant them outside, so I will keep waiting till I can start digging holes… Give my love to Stella please! K. xxx

Leave a Reply

