Skip to content

Bright & Pretty

April 12, 2016

Another unexpected two week break…

The prettiest month of the year has started and the weather has been far better than it usually is at the beginning of April (the temperatures are really weird – it was actually hot today!), but I’m in a really bad mood. This bad hides sadness and quickly spreading melancholy, so I really need good news, uplifting stories, bright colours and anything that I would find inspiring.

I’ll leave you with a bunch of brilliant paintings. If they can’t revoke positive emotions, then I don’t know what can…

American artist John Powell is a magician! (Make sure you visit his personal website.)

Bamboo and Autumn Orchids

John Powell – Bamboo and Autumn Orchids

john-powell-2

John Powell – Courtyard Haven

Primrose Pot

John Powell – Primrose Pot

Summer Peaches and Dragons

John Powell – Summer Peaches and Dragons

Mangos and Matilijas

John Powell – Mangos and Matilijas

Figs and Peonies

John Powell – Figs and Peonies

What do you think?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2016 10:09 pm

    Such stunning and colorful artwork! Bad moods are the worst…try music. I wrote a post about songs http://siobhanbedford.com/2016/01/28/6-songs-about-color/

  2. April 12, 2016 10:53 pm

    I’m in love with John’s work!

    • April 18, 2016 5:57 pm

      Me too! I wish I had the patience to paint in such detail like John, but first I’d have to learn to see this world in such bright colours. K.

  3. April 13, 2016 12:09 am

    Beautiful.

  4. April 13, 2016 9:32 am

    Sorry to hear you’re sad… but those paintings are lovely, take care, eoin

    • April 18, 2016 5:53 pm

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Eoin. I hope everything is well at your end? Has spring already sprung in Ireland? I’m hoping things will get better soon over here, so I might see the light at the end of this bad patch. Meanwhile, lets try to find happiness in little miracles around us, right? I bet your snowdrops were cheering you up last month? I’m adoring my magnolia at the moment – nature is amazing! K.

      • April 18, 2016 6:11 pm

        Our Daffodils are in full bloom now and the tulips are just staring… but my favourite is the Forget-me-nots (little blue flowers) Actually they are probably weeds because they spread all over the place. They come back each year, all around the garden 🙂

      • April 18, 2016 6:20 pm

        Still too cold for daffodils and tulips over here, I’d say we need one more week for these. I love forget-me-nots! We dug a huge pond last year and I’ve started planting them next to it, I’m hoping they’ll spread like mad on the banks – already dreaming of light blue carpet next to deep green water.

  5. April 17, 2016 10:31 pm

    So inspiring. Hope you cheer up soon. We are getting hot here too and I may have to spend mornings weeding my flower beds, I do feel some accomplishment when I fill the wheelbarrow though.

    • April 18, 2016 6:14 pm

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Ruth. I do agree with you that filling the wheelbarrow can feel like a really BIG accomplishment and we do need to celebrate such little victories now and then, so keep weeding and keep smiling! (I’ve been spending my evenings in the garden lately and I swear I have already got rid of at least a thousand of fresh dandelions, but there’s still so much to do… I guess the beauty of gardening is that it’s a never ending process – there will always be millions of possibilities how to make it prettier.) K.

  6. April 18, 2016 8:39 pm

    I’d say the carpet of Forget -me -nots will be lovely beside the pool

Leave a Reply

