Skip to content

Live the Life

July 19, 2016
The last time I tried to send out my message to the World I thought that being away for a month is a terrible sin, so have a guess how I feel now. Two months… Two long months!!! May must have somehow unnoticebly turned into June and then June into July… Has this happened to you as well? Please tell me it has. (I bet that next I won’t notice how July will turn into December and then… we will have to start everything all over again.)

The first half of summer is behind our backs, yet I can’t say I had a rest. Why? I’ve taken on a MASSIVE project, which consumes probably about 80% of my time (the rest is for sleeping and all other insignificant chores). This project is called MY very own Garden (I say this with a very proud intonation, so please go back and read this sentence once again, this time do it pro-per-ly). I can assure you it’s very exciting, but also very tireing…

I know what MY Garden has to look like  – you must have seen these pretty English cottage gardens with plenty of green hideaways and huge French hydrangeas next to a field of lavander, and perfectly neat German vegetable rows with crops molded to fit all EU regulations, right? So something along these lines. But there’s a slight hmm… I wouldn’t call it a problem, maybe just a little disadvantage – I’m starting everything from an absolute zero! Basically a meadow has to magically be transformed into an award winning estate.

liepa2
There’s no electricity, BUT we have a lovely pond and a watering can. I also have a few spades, a rake and a pitch fork. You must admit , I’m really optimistic these days! Joking aside, working there feels like we are the very first settlers somewhere in the Wild Wild West – conquering new territories (you should see me in my cowboy hat… and muddy pink wellies).

Anyway, at the moment everything seems really simple – the more I plant this year, the better my flower beds and vegetable patch will look next summer, so I’m putting loads of effort and energy into this project of mine. And, even if I don’t succeed (impossible!), I’m happy to be learning new things each day.
liepa1

I’ll leave all of you (and epecially my new followers, who decided to join me even though I wasn’t posting anything new – thank you!) with a piece of advice:

“Live the Life of Your Dreams.
When you start living the life of your dreams, there will always be obstacles, doubters, mistakes and setbacks along the way. But with hard work, perseverance and self-belief there is no limit to what you can achieve.”
― Roy T. Bennett

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2016 5:45 am

    I had this dream too. But I’m afraid without help, I’ll have to let some of the other dreams win, I’m not up to it. I’ll just live vicariously through you then!

    • July 20, 2016 4:03 pm

      Thank you so much for your trust, Pia! I’ll need to try even harder now…

      I have a few helpers; this dream is certainly too big just for me, so lets hope that slowly slowly… step by step we ALL will get somwhere. K. xxx

  2. July 30, 2016 4:04 pm

    Happy to see you back! I hope your gardening project is going well. I also love English cottage gardens. My flowerbeds have been in for 6-7 years and my ultimate goal is to have so much crammed in there that the weeds are crowded out. LOL Not totally successful yet, but at least the flowers are pretty this time of year. It looks like you have a good start.

    • July 31, 2016 6:33 pm

      Hello, Ruth. Thank you for leaving a couple of nice comments – I’m really glad to be back now!

      The Project is going well (picked up 4 nice cucumbers today, which is kind of amazing as the soil is very sandy there; you should have seen my smile… daft, but this is what makes me happy). My ultimate goal is just like yours – huge healthy perenials with heaps of mulch around them so that all weeds would know that there’s no place for them in my garden.

      Gardening is for patient people, don’t you think? Growing takes time… I am sure that NEXT summer our gardens will be even prettier, so all efforts are worthwhile. Chins up and lets get our spades out! K.

  3. August 5, 2016 6:14 pm

    Gardening is definitely for patient people, and I am afraid I usually save my patience for other things. LOL. My garden is doing okay this year with minimal help form me. I have 6 small cucumbers and a few tomatoes on the counter (along with a crop of fruit flies.) I got the green beans in late and they are just staring now. I finally have a few small ones growing out. I managed to keep the sweet potatoes alive and they have started to spread out so maybe I’ll get a few this year. They don’t like to be planted in cool weather so we waited some this year. No zucchinis or carrots yet.

Leave a Reply

