Skip to content

New Favourite

October 10, 2016

It’s been very windy and it rained a lot in the last week, which meant that I couldn’t work in the garden (and there’s still a lot to be done… to be honest I’m beginning to panic – the first frosts must be round the corner and my tulip bulbs are still in their pretty bags…). Cold weather and darker evenings gave me an opportunity to be lazy. I’m ashamed to admit, but I’ve been wasting a lot of my time on the Internet…

It was something like chain browsing – one image on Pinterest would lead to another and then another… and then one more. I’ve added a lot of new ideas to my collections and to try lists, that might stay in the form of just lists forever, and I also found THIS:

Still Life with Books and Flowers, Guildhall Art Gallery (image was found here)

Still Life with Books and Flowers, Guildhall Art Gallery (image was found here)

What do you think to this painting? I’m in absolute awe!

Ethel Sands (1873 -1962) is my new favourite artist. Simple subjects – one could say ordinary interiors, are turned into really warm paintings. Colours applied on canvas in some magic way capture mood, texture and light. It looks as if just a few quick and careless brush strokes are turned into real masterpieces.

Bedroom Interior, Auppegard, France; Guildhall Art Gallery (image was ound here)

Bedroom Interior, Auppegard, France; Guildhall Art Gallery (image was ound here)

Interior with Still Life and Statuette of the Madonna; National Museum Wales, National Museum Cardiff (image was found here)

Interior with Still Life and Statuette of the Madonna; National Museum Wales, National Museum Cardiff (image was found here)

The Bedroom at Auppegard, France, Girl Reading; Guildhall Art Gallery (image was found here)

The Bedroom at Auppegard, France, Girl Reading; Guildhall Art Gallery (image was found here)

Flowers in a Jug: Tate (image was found here)

Flowers in a Jug: Tate (image was found here)

Of course I’m jealous, of course I’d love to be able to paint like that… but I also realize that this would involve lots of hours spent painting and none chain browsing (have I coined a new term?).

— — —

Ethel Sands was an American-born artist and hostess who lived in England from her early childhood (in 1916 she was made a citizen of England). She studied art in Paris for several years under Eugène Carrière, and it was there that she met Anna Hope Hudson (Nan), her life partner. Her works were influenced by the artist Edouard Vuillard and Walter Sickert, and were generally of still lifes and interior scenes, many of which are of Château d’Auppegard that she shared with Hudson in France. Her works are in the collections of museums, the National Portrait Gallery, London and public collections. (More can be found here, on Wikipedia.)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2016 9:50 pm

    Thank you for the intro to this artist – can see why she’s a fave. Can also see the Sickert influence (was looking at some of his portraits in NPG today) – love her use of muted colours

    • October 11, 2016 5:17 pm

      You’re so lucky you live in London, Laura, as you can always just pop to the NPG! All of the best galleries are always just round the corner… Yes, this lady certainly had a gift; you like muted colours and I love the way she captured light.

  2. October 11, 2016 1:18 am

    Very calming palette. I especially like the one of the girl reading.

    • October 11, 2016 5:27 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Loved your blog – it seems you are a busy person! Wish you all the best, please keep inspiring others. K.

      • October 11, 2016 8:44 pm

        What a compliment! Thanks. I think every day of the people who inspire me and it’s good to know their inspiration gets passed on through me.

  3. October 17, 2016 11:24 pm

    What a lovely find. It is always exciting to see something new that is so beautiful. I can’t decide if I like the first one or the last one best. Oh well, I’ll take both, please. LOL

Leave a Reply

