Skip to content

“Catching” Birds

January 17, 2017

The most important question these days is – why didn’t we have so much snow for Christmas? It’s so pretty over here! Unbelievably pretty, yet cold. It has snowed for two days solid and now everything is covered in heaps of fluffy stuff – it seems winter has finally decided to show its real face…

Our garden is under a thick white blanket. The snow is so thick that I’m worried some of the branches might break. The dog has lost all of his toys (we should find them in spring) and is scared of the new shapes that have emerged over the weekend. As the landscape has changed so drastically I’m trying to look after our wildlife a bit more. Imagine if you were a tiny bird, where would you look for seeds or crumbs?

The good news is… we have a new bird feeder (bigger and cozier). And I have a personal bird feeding partner.

birds1

I know this is crazy, but my bird feeding partner is one of our cats – Moses. He’s a big green eyed boy. I find him extremely attractive, but I’m sure the birds would think he’s a monster. Now going back to the title that I chose for this post – “Catching” Birds, I think I need to tell you that the cat doesn’t catch birds. He just walks round the house with me and then returns to his warm cellar. I’m the bird catcher.

The catching process is painless and remote. I do this looking out of our kitchen window…

birds2

birds3

birds4

birds5

birds6

At the moment our garden guests are mostly tits and sparrows, but I hope to “catch” someone more exotic soon. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2017 12:57 am

    What fun for you and the cat. We haven’t much snow here. Just some very cold weather. We dodged a bullet last weekend, though. They predicted 3 days of freezing rain, but fortunately it all went around us and we just got regular old rain.

Leave a Reply

