Skip to content

Making Concrete Pots, Bowls and Platters

March 1, 2017

If you are a keen crafter you might have already heard of Hester van Overbeek who is always coming up with fresh ideas how to make ones houses and outdoor spaces prettier and comfier. She shares them on her website and occasionally publishes brilliant books. Well, her latest interest is concrete. (Yes, I do mean that hard boring grey stuff that could be described as cold and industrial.)

concrete1
Making Concrete Pots, Bowls and Platters is already the third Hester’s book. I was very fond of her Furniture Hacks (you can find its review here) and I must admit I’m already looking forward to trying out some of the suggested concrete casting and molding crafts.

As you might have already noticed I’ll have 35 stylish and simple projects to choose from. I think that’s plenty. I guess it will be hard to decide what to start with though – should I create something for my home or for the garden? I’d better show you what I liked the most first.

concrete2

I fell in love with these concrete pots. I think they are mega cute.

concrete3

 

And what do you think to this one? A bit of bronze paint and that mentioned industrial image evaporates!

 

Hester has used a variety of molds for the projects in this book. She has “built her own wooden ones, used her silicon baking pans, raided the recycling bin for juice cartons and yogurt pots, and even tried some free casting on sand”. Now that’s something I’ve never heard of before. Apparently all you need is a pile of sand and some metal wire that would strengthen your concrete shape. (There’s a step by step photo guide in the book.) Using your imagination you could create a myriad of wonderful things.

 

concrete4

 

I like the fact that this book provides all the information you will need before you start playing with concrete – for eg. how to choose and mix concrete, what molds to use, how to create patterns, how to colour and seal your creations. It’s a real manual with many more details and tips that you’ll learn once you decide to take on a particular project.

 

concrete5

 

Fancy having a go? I think you should. As Hester has pointed out “concrete will take any shape you pour it in and will even pick up all the texture inside your molds, so you can get very creative”.
— — —
Making Concrete Pots, Bowls, & Platters by Hester van Overbeek, published by CICO Books. Photography by James Gardiner © CICO Books



Follow my blog with Bloglovin

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2017 3:23 pm

    the projects look neat. i assume you have to fire these items, do you have a kiln of your own or a space where you can do it? i love rugged things like these. thanks for the info!

    • March 1, 2017 3:59 pm

      You don’t have to fire these items, there’s no need to have a kiln. You can create these pots in your own kitchen! The mixture you make and pour into moulds has to be left to dry, it harders (usually this takes a few days) and then you can remove the mould and… voila! you have your own pot, bowl or platter. K.

      • March 1, 2017 4:08 pm

        oh awesome! what kind of clay do you use?

      • March 1, 2017 4:25 pm

        That’s not clay. This book’s author uses premixed concrete. All you have to add is water. K.

  2. March 1, 2017 4:29 pm

    crafting with concrete – how enticing! Aside from all the possibilities I like the rustic look that ensues. A book for for my wishlist – thank you for this post 🙂

    • March 3, 2017 6:12 pm

      Glad to hear you liked this book, Laura. Really happy I could share some inspiring images with you. K.

  3. March 1, 2017 7:31 pm

    Crazy about the little bowls.

  4. March 4, 2017 2:29 pm

    My husband’s godmother (an Atlanta artist) made some sand castings many years ago and we have a couple of them. They are really fun.

    • March 5, 2017 5:54 pm

      I’ve never heard of sand castings before. I think I’ll have a go at making something for my garden. I haven’t decided what it’s going to be yet though… The ones that you own, what do they look like? Are they just some shapes or do they look like sculptures? K.

      • March 6, 2017 2:09 pm

        They are flat panels panels. One is a fish one an one is a flower. You can also embed small stones, etc when you make it. I think you can use molds into the damp concrete to create a negative space in the sand. And then you can paint the concrete. Ours are for the indoors so they are not sealed. I wish I could send a picture.

      • March 12, 2017 4:52 pm

        I haven’t thought about embeding small objects, although to be fair it was mentioned in this book. Yes, I do think it’s a brilliant idea – I could create a small mosaic from for e.g. sea glass. I’m so excited I could start right now, yet I’m very busy sowing seeds and taking care of tiny seedlings. Gardening season starts soon, this means less time for anything else…

        P.S. I would be really glad if you could send me some photographs of your concrete panels. Here’s my e-mail: decorartuk@gmail.com
        Thank you, Ruth.

Leave a Reply

