Skip to content

Awake My Soul

April 18, 2017

Slow? Yes! Our spring is extremely slow. It feels like it steps one step forward and then leaps a few backwards… Hats and gloves can’t stay long in the darkest corners of our wardrobes, they have to keep coming out, preferably together with the new best man’s friend – umbrella.

Two weeks ago we were enjoying a very warm spell (this is when the fresh story started to unfold – pretty butterflies and the first serious pollen in the air) yet today it snowed and the weathermen are swearing it’s going to be a cold night once again! On the other hand the storks are back (always a good sign) and when the sun comes out it’s really lovely out there.

It’s so lovely that I do feel much happier and more awake (if you know what I mean). It’s much easier to get up early in the mornings and I don’t mind taking the dog out a few extra times a day; lets not mention the garden – weeding, raking and sowing takes up most of my spare time. I do feel like we are slowly moving ouside and even the totally unexpected snowflakes can’t stop this natural process.

So… anyone who keeps moaning about the cold should remember how the song (“Awake My Soul” by Mumford & Sons) goes:

“Lend me your eyes I can change what you see”…


I might be taking photographs of the same plants every spring, yet Nature never ceases to amaze me. How can magnolia lock up its beauty in these fluffy buds for winter and then, as if by some misterious command, open them up every April?


Or sedum spectabile – it’s still cold, yet the plant has already formed clumps of sturdy rosettes!


Well, whatever you are busy with these days, I hope you find at least a few minutes to enjoy the emerging beauty around you. This spring might be extremely slow, yet it’s unstoppable – I believe that sooner or later the weather will warm up and coats will be able to have a long looooong break…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mvobsession permalink
    April 18, 2017 6:29 pm

    Beautiful. What kind of camera do you use ?

  2. May 6, 2017 12:01 am

    What lovely flowers. It’s one of the reasons I love spring. That and warmer weather. LOL

Leave a Reply

