Skip to content

From Illustration to… Things

November 10, 2015

You might have noticed that it has been a long time since I last showed you any of my artwork. The truth is there’s not a lot I could show… My recent paintings have been only tiny watercolour illustrations, something that I could fit into my busy days. And there wouldn’t have been even these if I wasn’t following a few inspiring people who manage to create something beautiful EVERY day.

I admire artists who manage to paint daily. They swear that it’s been hard only for the first few weeks and later it became a healthy habit. Their advice – have your tools and materials ready, dedicate half and hour a day and share your end result on social media (apparently this does wonders – as you build up a circle of followers and soon realize you simply can’t let them down).

I can assure you I haven’t formed a painting daily habit yet. Sadly at the moment I’m not even sure it will ever happen. So far there have been just irregular attempts to draw/paint something not too complicated, but I’m happy that some of my ordinary subjects will live a life of their own as new objects or things.

Original Illustration (standard A5)

Original Illustration (standard A5)

Believe it or not, but painting took less time than the next stage – editing. It seems less time spent on my computer would free that half an hour needed for my daily painting… Anyway, some Photoshop magic and I turned my original illustration into this pattern:

Cutlery

Cutlery

The above pattern has become things that can be purchased in my virtual RedBubble shop! (Even more magic, I think – these days anyone can become a designer!)

pillow-cutlery

If you liked this throw pillow please click here.

cup-cutlery

If you liked this mug please click here.

bag-cutlery

If you liked this tote bag please click here.

spiral-cutlery

If you liked this spiral notebook please click here.

journal-cutlery

If you liked this hardcover journal please click here.

Well, please let me know what you think to my illustration and the things and, of course, the daily painting habit. And… if you are one of these wonderful people who paint daily please let us all know where we can see your creations.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2015 10:17 am

    That’s a really interesting post – and a nice watercolour ! Best of luck with your new design venture, eoin

    • November 16, 2015 3:48 pm

      Thank you for your kind wishes, Eoin. I was really glad to hear that you liked my watercolour, as it’s so childish… but I guess sometimes it’s nice (and healthy) to get involved in something not too serious. I’m playing and pretending I’m a designer. I value this opportunity, so even if it’s not successful I’ll be able to say that I had fun trying this out. K.

  2. November 10, 2015 9:02 pm

    Cute pattern!

    • November 16, 2015 3:49 pm

      I’m really glad you liked it as you’ve done more impressive ones yourself! K.

      • November 16, 2015 4:34 pm

        Well, I don’t know about that … but I do know you are very talented yourself!!!

  3. Laura Bloomsbury permalink
    November 11, 2015 9:19 am

    the design is simply striking and you’ve made an eye catching pattern from it too – wishing you large sales!

    • November 16, 2015 3:53 pm

      Thank you, thank you, Laura! Not sure about large sales… I’m not a business woman; I think I’d even fail selling ice-cream somewhere hot, but the words “striking” and “eye catching” have really put a BIG smile on my face. K.

  4. November 11, 2015 3:05 pm

    Bravo!

Leave a comment